Sunday, January 21, 2018

Kidwell, Fuqua, Wilson, Guthrie & McGowen Victorious at Humboldt

humboldt_speedway_logoBy Scott L. Stewart – It seems hard to believe, but June 5th, 2015 marked the midpoint of the season at Humboldt Speedway. And, after a half season of full throttle action, Mid-Season Champions have been anointed. They are:

Sport Compact: Tyler Davis, #01jr, Chanute, Ks.
Pure Stock: Mike Churning, #13C, Chanute, Ks.
B-Mods: Riley Whitworth, #R63, Humboldt, Ks.
Stock Car: Patrick Kay, #16, Chanute, Ks.
USRA Modifieds: John Allen, #98, Chanute, Ks.

In addition to crowning the mid-season Kings, there was a whole world of racing action as well.

It’s been many a year since a driver, especially a youngster, finished half a season undefeated in feature action. Enter Tyler Davis, who did exactly that in Sport Compacts. However, when your on top, you become somewhat notorious. In this case, an anonymous donor offered up a $50.00 bounty to any driver who could outrun Davis in the feature.

From out of Independence came a young man; Will Guthrie, who locked up in wheel to wheel combat with Davis and the others, and emerged victorious. Oh yes, this was also Guthrie’s first ever feature win anywhere! Davis finished a hard fought second, with Lance Dixon third and Tevyn James fourth.

Incredibly, up to now, there had been a different USRA Modified feature winner each week at The Hummer in 2015. Darrin Fuqua became this seasons first repeat winner, with a 20 lap wire to wire victory. Jeremy Chambers held of John Allen for runner up, Terry Schultz took fourth, and Shad Badder claimed fifth.

Tyler Kidwell overcame a half years worth of mechanical hard luck by dominating the USRA B-Mod feature. Kidwell relegated Jake Richards to second, Andy Bryant third, Bryan McGowen fourth, and Randal Schiffelbein, Jr. to fifth.

Pure Stock ace Derrek Wilson returned to victory lane in Friday’s feature, pacing Mike Churning, Wayne Johnson, Don McIntosh, and Scott Lucke.

In Stock Car division feature action, Levi McGowen wrestled the lead and the win from Tyler James, while Scott Collins battled his way to a third place finish. Fourth went to Patrick Kay, with Matt Haid fifth.

June 5th also marked the first Kid’s Bicycle Race of the season, where three age groups contended. Congratulations to the top three in each group:

6 and under:
Darrin Folk
Delaney Mock
Matthew Clounch

7 to 9:
Easton Wettstein
Caden Vink
Spikey Rodriguez

10 to 12:

Trenton Wilson
Dillion Shields
Ayden John

No racing at The Hummer June 12th, we will resume June 19th. Look for a $1000.00 to win Enduro race coming soon.

Humboldt Speedway
Race Results
Friday, June 05, 2015

Ray’s Metal Depot USRA B-Mod
A FEATURE 1, Tyler Kidwell. 2, Jake Richards. 3, Andy Bryant. 4, Brian McGowen. 5, Mike Higley. 6, Matt Rose. 7, Riley Whitworth. 8, Tim VanGotten. 9, Randal Schiffelbein Jr. 10, Brandon
Jones. 11, Cody Brill. 12, Tim Phillips. 13, Jimmie Davis. 14, Mike Letterman. 15, Mark Hunziger. 16, Jay Purkey. 17, Kenton Allen. 18, Brian Walburn. 19, Tony Filbert. 20, Monty Mitchell. 21, Ryan Smith.

HEAT 1 1, Tyler Kidwell. 2, Jake Richards. 3, Randal Schiffelbein Jr. 4, Tim VanGotten. 5, Mark Hunziger. 6, Jimmie Davis. 7, Tony Filbert.
HEAT 2 1, Matt Rose. 2, Brian McGowen.3. Mike Higley 4. Tim Phillips 5 Cody Brill 6 Jay Purkey 7 Brian Walburn
HEAT 3 1, Andy Bryant. 2, Riley Whitworth. 3, Brandon Jones. 4, Mike Letterman. 5, Kenton
Allen. 6, Monty Mitchell. 7, Ryan Smith.

McCarthy Auto Group USRA Modified
A FEATURE 1, Darron Fuqua. 2, Jeremy Chambers. 3, John Allen. 4, Terry Schultz. 5, Shad Badder. 6, Josh Everhart. 7, Chase Domer. 8, Scott Daniels. 9, Jay Purkey. 10, Marc Hurd. 11, Dennis Bishop. 12, Justin Becker. 13, Lewis Jackson. 14, Justin Johnson. 15, Paden Phillips. 16, Robbie Test. 17, Chase Sigg. 18, Jon Sheets. 19, Jesse Folk Jr. 20, Tad Davis

B FEATURE 1, Lewis Jackson. 2, Robbie Test. 3, Marc Hurd. 4, Jay Purkey. 5, Jesse Folk Jr. 6, Chase Sigg. 7, Gene Hogan. 8, Colton Eck. 9, Darren Robinson. 10, Robby Love. 11, Lance Town

HEAT 1 1, Paden Phillips. 2, Jeremy Chambers. 3, Dennis Bishop. 4, Lewis Jackson. 5, Jay Purkey. 6, Lance Town. 7, Jesse Folk Jr.
HEAT 2 1, John Allen. 2, Josh Everhart. 3, Terry Schultz. 4, Chase Domer. 5, Colton Eck. 6, Chase Sigg.
HEAT 3 1, Darron Fuqua. 2, Jon Sheets. 3, Scott Daniels. 4, Justin Becker. 5, Robby Love. 6, Darren Robinson.
HEAT 4 1, Tad Davis. 2, Shad Badder. 3, Justin Johnson. 4, Robbie Test. 5, Marc Hurd. 6, Gene Hogan.

Whitworth Construction Pure Stock
A FEATURE 1, Derrek Wilson. 2, Mike Churning. 3, Wayne Johnson. 4, Donald McIntosh. 5, Scott Lucke. 6, Zoe Hannah. 7, Joey DeCoster. 8, Krew Walburn. 9, Ethan Vance. 10, Billy Shadden.

HEAT 1 1, Wayne Johnson. 2, Mike Churning. 3,Donald McIntosh. 4, Zoe Hannah. 5, Billy Shadden.
HEAT 2 1, Derrek Wilson. 2, Scott Lucke. 3, Joey DeCoster. 4, Ethan Vance. 5, Krew Walburn.

Sport Compact
A FEATURE 1, Will Guthrie. 2, Tyler Davis. 3, Lance Dixon. 4, Tevyn James. 5, Drake Barker. 6, Aaron Farwell.
HEAT 1 1, Tyler Davis. 2, Lance Dixon. 3, Will Guthrie. 4, Tevyn James. 5, Aaron Farwell. 6, Drake Barker.

A FEATURE 1, Levi McGowen. 2, Tyler James. 3, Scott Collins. 4, Patrick Kay. 5, Matt Haid. 6, Russ Moyer. 7, Daryl Drake. 8, Chance Stevenson. 9, David Matlock.

HEAT 1 1, Tyler James. 2, Daryl Drake. 3, Levi McGowen. 4, Scott Collins. 5, Russ Moyer.
HEAT 2 1, Patrick Kay. 2, Matt Haid. 3, Chance Stevenson. 4, David Matlock.

Bicycle Races to 3 Finishes
Up to age 6: 1 Barron Folk 2 Delaney Marr 3 Matthew Clounch
Age 7 – 9: 1 Easton Wettstein 2 Caden Vink 3 Spikey Rodriques
Age 10 – 12: 1 Trenton Wilson 2 Dillon Shield 3 Ayden John

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: