Friday, January 19, 2018

Derry Lays The SmackDown At ACR!

Brad Derry #37d battles Jeff Tubbs #37x during the Stock Car Smackdown! Reed Bros. Racing Photos

Brad Derry #37d battles Jeff Tubbs #37x during the Stock Car Smackdown! Reed Bros. Racing Photos

Stock Cars from all over the mid-west came to do battle in the cage with big money on the line for those up to the challenge. As the green flag waived and the drivers dialed up the horsepower on a smooth fast racing surface, Jason Estes #997 would put the Ford Thunderbird out front and appear to have the field in hand as he would lead the first 19 laps until a caution would bunch the field. Estes would be challenged by a very fast #37x driven by Jeff Tubbs as the two would race side by side until Tubbs would pull ahead to lead moving Estes to second. As the raced progressed a new face would appear as a contender as Brad Derry #37D would use the entire track and all his race car had to offer as he worked from deep in the pack toward the front. Derry would battle Jon Boller Jr #20x and the other front runners tooth and nail using the extreme high line to pass both Estes and Tubbs taking over the lead. Derry would not be denied on this night and claim the big check, bragging rights, and the beautiful Victory Trophy. Holding on to second in the battle to the checkers was Jeff Tubbs edging Voo Doo Chassis Hard Charger of the Race Marvin Griffith Jr. #75m, who came from a deep in the field starting position, to finish the night third. Jon Boller Jr and Anthony Robertson would race wheel to wheel and door to door to the line with Boller taking fourth and Robertson #82m rounding out the night’s top five. Heat race winners included Jeff Dixon #88, Jason Estes #997, and Jon Boller Jr #20x.

Also tackling the 1/5th mile of racing dirt, the Hobby Stocks would not disappoint all those in attendance as Tobin Bartlett would show the way to Victory Lane. Bartlett would use a front row starting position and heat race win momentum to lead every lap on his way to win number two for the weekend in the cage. Bartlett would be challenged late by second place finisher Mich Ross #34 who would work his way to the front but not find a way around the fast #28. Lane Chew #37 and Cody Satterwhite were also in the hunt as Chew would place third holding Satterwhite #23c to fourth. Rick Thompson #20T would finish the evenings feature fifth after developing mechanical issues.

Sport Compact would also see action on this great night of racing with the familiar #22 of Dusty Young starting on the pole. Young would win both his heat race and the feature event to pick up the Victory Trophy as he stood tall in the winner’s circle. James Reed #1/2pi would challenge Young but to no avail and be forced to settle for second as David Miller III was third. Other heat race winner Will Guthrie #78 would come home fourth as Joshua Conrad #08 would develop problems and end the night fifth.

Atchison County Raceway would like to thank all the fans and drivers for this great night of racing and fun. Special thanks to Phil Birkinsha for a smooth, wide, and multiple groove racing surface for the cars to compete. We would like to thank all our great sponsors for making the Stock Car Smackdown a success.

“Don’t be Afraid of the Cage”!

Race Results from the Stock Car Smackdown at Atchison County Raceway 8/2/2015

Sport Compact:
22 Dusty Young (Heat Race Winner)
1/2 pi James Reed
55 David Miller III
78 Will Guthrie (Heat Race Winner)
08 Joshua Conrad
3w Jason Teel
33d Devin Schmidt
26g Jeffery Arbuckle
23g Morgan Gudgell
66b Barry Luthi
75d Chuck Warman

Hobby Stock:
28 Tobin Bartlett (Heat Race Winner)
34 Mich Ross
37 Lance Chew
23c Cody Satterwhite
20t Rick Thompson
11p Dodd Proctor
5 Kyle Rowland

Stock Car Smackdown:
37d Brad Derry
37x Jeff Tubbs
75m Marvin Griffith Jr
20x Jon Boller Jr (Heat Race Winner)
82m Anthony Robertson
15 John O’Neal Jr
22a Alvie Christofferson
37h Clinton Hockersmith
997 Jason Estes (Heat Race Winner)
21h Billie Hoover
C15 Eric Weyer
J55 Jacob Bruning
98w Gerald Wahwahsuck
7si Josiah Birkinsha
5k Steve Herrick
16 Paul Lanfermann II
4 Gary Akers
63 Billy Spilman
88 Jeff Dixon (Heat Race Winner)
24k Daniel King
36s Holden Schultz

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: