Thursday, January 18, 2018

Great Racing Action in the Cage at Atchison County Raceway!

Gerald Wahwahsuck & War Pony #98 ride to the win. Reed Bros. Racing Photos

Gerald Wahwahsuck & War Pony #98 ride to the win. Reed Bros. Racing Photos

Getting the great racing action underway in the features was the Jr Sprint driven by Austin Schweizer taking his laps and the first place trophy.

Next to tackle the 1/5th mile of dirt was the always fast and entertaining E-Modifieds with great racing action from start to finish. Nicholas Carpenter #33 would charge to the early lead appearing to be the car to beat until a late race caution would bunch the field and see Carpenter’s lead go away. On the restart Justin Asher #74 would pass Carpenter and take the point and lead the next few circuits until mechanical issues would cause him to slow on the back straight on the final lap collecting the #12x of Matthew Lance allowing the very fast #63 of Billy Spilman to dive by on the inside and on to the checkers. This is Spilman’s first win of the 2015 season in the E-Modified division at Atchison County Raceway. Corey Myers #15 would race his way from the back to the front and finish second with current point leader and heat race winner Chris Dishong #41 third. Anthony Asher #20x would finish the night in fourth with other heat race winner Matt Dorssom #3d, in an E-Modified for the first time at ACR, rounding out the nights top five.

Hobby Stock was big in number and quality as they entered the cage with rookie sensation Lane Chew #37 taking the early lead and setting the pace for the field to follow. As the race progressed heat race winner Kyle Rowland #5 would emerge from the pack and race Chew side by side for many laps with both swapping the lead until Rowland would take over and on to victory for his first win of 2015. Chew would fade to third in the later stages as current point leader Joshua Munsen #19 would come from the back to the front and finish second moving Chew to third. The always fast Cody Satterwhite #23c would hold of the fast late race charge of Conner Masoner #47x to finish fourth with Masoner fifth. Other heat race winner was Jim Masoner #99 who was in the mix until mechanical issues forced him from the race.

Street Stock was low in number but high in quality as they took to the track next. Gerald Wahwahsuck #98W would take off from a front row starting position and use the low line to lead the first few circuits until Jon Boller Jr #20x would find the high side to his liking and take over the lead moving Wahwahsuck to second. Anthony Robertson #82m would also challenge for the lead but to no avail as Wahwahsuck and Boller would battle it out for the win. As the race continued to rage Wahwahsuck would move to the high line and close in on Boller and use a slide job to perfection in turn four and take back the top spot. Boller and Wahwahsuck would race hard to the checkers with Wahwahsuck winning the race and Boller a close second. Heat race winner Brandon Crockett #98 would move from the back to the front and finish third with Robertson fourth and Alvie Christofferson #22a fifth. At the end of the night the Street Stock Class was considered Best in Show and the third finishing position drawn and Brandon Crockett picking up the $100 bonus.

Wahwahsuck #98W and Boller Jr #20x wheel to wheel!

B-Modified kept the great racing action rolling as Truman Asher #73 would again make his way through the pack and see the checkers first in victory lane. Asher would get by the very fast #77 of Doug Keller who would finish second with Cody Brill #96 third. Heat race winner Rodney Schweizer #74 would run a steady and consistent race and come home fourth on this night with Curtis Dreasher #C4 placing a solid fifth. Other heat race winner was Tyson Lanfermann #47.

The future of our sport is in good hand as the Kids Mods took to the track next for their feature action. Dakota Earls #15e and Cade Richards #1r would swap the lead several times in the first few laps until Earls would capitalize and move his car to the front. Newcomer to the track, Madelyn Bruning #89 would find the turn four wall as she went head on into the concrete barrier. Bruning would be unharmed and emerge from the car and finish third on the night. Back up front the two racers would battle it out to the checkers with Earls first and Richards second on the night. We would like to thank Team Christofferson and John Brown Construction for the trophies in the Kids Mod Division.

Sport Compact would bring the night of great racing action to a close as they entered the cage. James Lemke #17 would battle a very fast 1/2cr of John Willard as the two would go door to door for the lead. As the race continued Chris Christofferson #17c would also challenge on the outside until contact between him and Willard would send both drivers to the rear of the field. Lemke would inherit the lead and on to victory seeing the checkers first and winning the feature event. Lemke was challenged late by brother Joshua Conrad #08 who would finish the night second. Heat race winner James Reed 1/2pi would race his way to third with other heat race winner Willard mounting a charge back through the pack to place fourth. Rounding out the nights top five was Chris Lewis #82k with a smooth solid feature race.

Atchison County Raceway would like to thank all our fans and drivers for another night of exciting racing action. Great racing surface and great drivers’ makes for a great night of racing.

See everyone next Friday night for all our regular classes along with our Cageman Series Obstacle Race.

Race Results Atchison County Raceway 8/14/2015
Jr Sprint:
74 Austin Schweizer

63 Billy Spilman
15 Corey Myers
41 Chris Dishong (Heat Race Winner)
20x Anthony Asher
3d Matt Dorssom (Heat Race Winner)
7sis Philisa Birkinsha
1 Kyle Henning
7 Jason Teel
23 James Piper
74 Justin Asher
12x Matthew Lance
33 Nicholas Carpenter

Hobby Stock:
5 Kyle Rowland (Heat Race Winner)
19 Joshua Munsen
37 Lane Chew
23c Cody Satterwhite
47x Conner Masoner
62 Lonnie Myers
13x Carson Masoner
13 Darren McCray
B5 George Bruning
28k Chris Kiehl
18 Wayne Brooke
11p Dodd Proctor
99 Jim Masoner (Heat Race Winner)
7 Brennen Bosch

Street Stock:
98w Gerald Wahwahsuck
20x Jon Boller Jr
98 Brandon Crockett (Heat Race Winner)
82m Anthony Robertson
22a Alvie Christofferson

73 Truman Asher
77 Doug Keller
96 Cody Brill
74 Rodney Schweizer (Heat Race Winner)
C4 Curtis Dreasher
4d Shawn Lee
444 Chris Flowers
3d Matt Dorssom
81x Austin Charles
09x Rick Dreasher
47 Tyson Lanfermann (Heat Race Winner)
20x Chris Wright
03 Lance Dixon
14 Aaron Myers

Kids Mod:
15e Dakota Earls
1r Cade Richards (Heat Race Winner)
89 Madelyn Bruning
33 Nicholas Carpenter

Sport Compact:
17 James Lemke
08 Josh Conrad
1/2pi James Reed (Heat Race Winner)
1/2cr John Willard (Heat Race Winner)
82k Chris Lewis
66b Barry Luthi
3w Toby Teel
45c Chuck Warman
17c Chris Christofferson
33d Devin Schmidt
55 David Miller III
78 Will Guthrie
26g Jeffery Arbuckle
9 Christian Pease
22 Dusty Young

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: