Wednesday, February 21, 2018


The Zee Man gets it done. Andrew Towne Photo

The Zee Man gets it done. Andrew Towne Photo

By Scott L. Stewart – Each week, veteran drivers are willing to travel a great distance, several hundred miles in many cases, to compete at a place with a reputation for tough competition, great conditions, and atmosphere like none other, Humboldt Speedway.

One such driver is Devin Irvin, who has been making the trek from Cleveland, Mo. to the Hummer High Banks on a regular basis of late. A racer since the early 80’s, Irvin recorded his first Humboldt feature win the elite “Stock Car” division Friday night. Tyler James finished second in the event, with Patrick Kay, Scott Collins, and Jason Thurman completing the top five.

USRA Modified driver Tad Davis posted his fourth feature win of the season, the first driver to do so in 2015. Tanner Mullens of Wichita, Ks. claimed the runner up spot,
with John Allen ( who is locked in a tight points battle with Davis for the season points championship) finishing third. Cody Schniepp was fourth, while Chase Sigg battled his way into fifth.

Randy Zimmerman out dueled Riley Whitworth to take the B-Mod feature win this week. Finishing third was Brian McGowen, while Tyler Kidwell finished fourth, despite the absence of his left rear spring which made for tricky handling. Fifth place went to Tim Phillips.

In Pure Stock action, Derrek Wilson returned to victory lane , with current points leader Mike Churning as runner up. Wayne Johnson scored third, Bryce Weldon fourth, and Don McIntosh fifth.

Tyler Davis padded his claim to Season Champion in Sport Compact with one more victory. Tevyn James raced his way to second, Kourtney Letterman third, and Ken Colston fourth.

The annual Mechanics Race rounded out Friday’s show; Chris Churning, Doug Hannah, and Adrian VanGotten were the top trio in Pure Stock. Stock Car division featured a one two three combo of Matthew Kay, Chris Kircher, and Jerry Kustenborter, Jr. In the combined B-Mod/A-Mod event, it was Jason McGowen and Trent Morrison.

Next week marks the end of Humboldt Speedway’s 2015 season. It will be the final points night of the year, and the ladies will compete in the Powder Puff races.

Coming Sept. 5, School Bus races.

Humboldt Speedway
Race Results
Friday, August 21, 2015

Ray’s Metal Depot USRA B-Mod
A FEATURE 1, Randy Zimmerman. 2, Riley Whitworth. 3, Brian McGowen. 4, Tyler Kidwell. 5, Tim Phillips. 6, Tim VanGotten. 7, Jimmie Davis. 8, Jim Body. 9, Mark Hunziger. 10, Mike Letterman. 11, Kenton Allen. 12, Luke Phillips. 13, Jake Storrer.

HEAT 1 1, Randy Zimmerman. 2, Riley Whitworth. 3, Tyler Kidwell. 4, Mark Hunziger. 5, Tim Phillips. 6, Mike Letterman. 7, Kenton Allen. 8, Cody Vink.
HEAT 2 1, Jimmie Davis. 2, Lucas Isaacs. 3, Brian McGowen. 4, Luke Phillips. 5, Tim VanGotten. 6, Jake Storrer.

McCarthy Auto Group USRA Modified
A FEATURE 1, Tad Davis. 2, Tanner Mullens. 3, John Allen. 4, Cody Schniepp. 5, Chase Sigg. 6,Dennis Bishop. 7, Jeremy Chambers. 8, Paden Phillips. 9, Chase Domer. 10, Scott Daniels. 11, Colton Eck. 12, Mike Lawrence. 13, Gene Hogan. 14, Jim Body. 15, Allan Broers. 16, Jesse Folk Jr.

HEAT 1 1, Dennis Bishop. 2, Cody Schniepp. 3, Jeremy Chambers. 4, Chase Sigg. 5, Jesse Folk Jr. 6, Gene Hogan. 7, Colton Eck. 8, Mike Lawrence.
HEAT 2 1, Tanner Mullens. 2, John Allen. 3, Tad Davis. 4, Chase Domer. 5, Scott Daniels. 6, Allan Broers. 7, Paden Phillips. 8, Jim Body.

Whitworth Construction Pure Stock
A FEATURE 1, Derrek Wilson. 2, Mike Churning. 3, Wayne Johnson. 4, Bryce Weldon. 5, Donald McIntosh. 6, Stetson Deets. 7, Mitchell Coulter. 8, Zoe Hannah. 9, Ethan Vance. 10, Mike Kay. 11, Keith Bradley. 12, Jon Westhoff. 13, Krew Walburn. 14, Joey DeCoster.

HEAT 1 1, Bryce Weldon. 2, Wayne Johnson. 3, Ethan Vance. 4, Mitchell Coulter. 5, Krew Walburn. 6, Mike Kay. 7, Joey DeCoster.
HEAT 2 1, Mike Churning. 2, Derrek Wilson. 3, Donald McIntosh. 4, Zoe Hannah. 5, Jon Westhoff. 6, Keith Bradley. 7, Stetson Deets.

Sport Compact
A FEATURE 1, Tyler Davis. 2, Tevyn James. 3, Kourtney Letterman. 4, Ken Colston. 5, Mitchell Pietz. 6, Tuker Davis.

HEAT 1 1, Tyler Davis. 2, Tevyn James. 3, Kourtney Letterman. 4, Mitchell Pietz. 5, Drake Barker. 6, Tuker Davis. 7, Ken Colston.

A FEATURE 1, Devin Irvin. 2, Tyler James. 3, Patrick Kay. 4, Scott Collins. 5, Daryl Drake. 6, Jason Thurman.

HEAT 1 1, Tyler James. 2, Devin Irvin. 3, Scott Collins. 4, Jason Thurman. 5, Patrick Kay. 6, Daryl Drake.


MODIFIED / BMOD: Jason McGowen, Trent Morrison, Mystery Driver, Jim Boyd II, Tyler Wilson, Tim Stinnett, Kenny Phillips, Cliff Hogan, Hunter Hutson, Kenny Phillips

STOCK CAR: Matthew Kay, Chris Kircher, Jerry Kustanborter, Brent Audiss, Clint Drake
PURE STOCK: Chris Churning, Doug Hannah, Adrian VanGotten, Brian Walburn, Chase Gore, Chris Northcutt, William Franklin

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: