Saturday, February 17, 2018

Powers Finds Victory Lane in NCRA Modifed 81 Speedway Stop!

ncraNot even a motor change after his heat race victory was enough to detour him from victorious as defending tour champion Dan Powers finally found victory lane for the first time this 2015 race season as the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Precise Racing Products modified divisions took to the three-eighths mile oval of 81 Speedway in Park City, Kansas on Saturday night for race number two of the Labor Day weekend of racing for the tour.

Powers and Ryan McAninch started on the front row for the twenty-five car field and it was McAninch taking the lead as the green flag fell. Powers, Brian Franz, Jason McGehee and Marc Hurd were the top five after one lap was complete and was quickly replaced by a yellow as Dustin Belcher spun at the bottom of turns one and two. The attempted restart saw Paden Phillips bring out the caution as he spun in turn four.

Once race action resumed McAninch jumped out into the lead on the double-file restart as Powers settled into the runner up position. His lead would be only one car length while, behind the leader, the battle for third was just as intense between McGehee and Franz.

On lap thirteen Powers began to make his move as he caught even with McAninch down the back stretch and drove low entering turns three and four. The defending tour champion would make the bottom stick as he came out of turn four and into the lead.

McAninch wasn’t going to give up on his attempt for his second victory of the season as he stayed glued to Powers’ rear bumper waiting for him to make a mistake. His chance came with four laps to go as a couple of back to back cautions slowed the pace of the race.

On the final restart McAninich would get a run entering turns one and two and briefly out front. However, Powers would slingshot past exiting turn two and get a run down the back stretch and put distance between himself and McAninch. That was all Powers needed as he went on to stretch his advantage the final four laps and take the half stretch victory. McAninch settled for second while McGehee came home third. Thirteenth starting Tyler Davis worked his way up through the field to finish fourth and keep his championship title hopes alive while former series champion Franz rounded out the top five.

Tanner Mullens, who won Friday night’s event at Salina Speedway in Salina, Kansas, was looking to keep his hopes of a three-peat alive and a $1000 bonus if he could sweep the three-race weekend. Mullens struggled in his heat race, finished third in the first “B” feature and would come fifteenth starting position to come home sixth in the night’s feature finale.

The four, eight lap heat races for the 27 car field were won by Powers, Franz, McAninch and Marc Hurd while Jon Thompson and Scott Green won the two, ten lap “B” features.

The NCRA modified tour will be making their way north to for their annual Labor Day, Sunday weekend appearance atop the Belleville High Banks Speedway in Belleville, Kansas

NCRA Modifieds

81 Speedway/Park City, Kansas

September 5, 2015

27 Cars

1st Heat: 1) Dan Powers, 2) Jon Thompson, 3) Dustin Belcher, 4) Kevin Kemp, 5) Scott Green, 6) Tyler Davis, 7) Ritchie Wilson

2nd Heat: 1) Brian Franz, 2) Bob Bills, 3) Johnny Whitmore, 4) Richard Wilson, 5) Tanner Mullens, 6) Justin Moler, 7) Kevin Newell

3rd Heat: 1) Ryan McAninch, 2) Jason McGehee, 3) Clint McFadden, 4) Shelby Stucky, 5) T.J. Tolan, 6) Victoria White, DNS: Bill Siemers

4th Heat: 1) Marc Hurd, 2) Paden Phillips, 3) Josh Lanterman, 4) Carson McKeen, 5) Tommy Carter, DNS: Marlin Farr

1st B Feature: 1) Jon Thompson, 2) Tyler Davis, 3) Tanner Mullens, 4) Kevin Kemp, 5) Richie Wilson, 6) Bill Seimers, 7) Victoria White, 8) Shelby Stucky, DNS: T.J. Tolan

2nd B Feature: 1) Scott Green, 2) Richard Wilson, 3) Dustin Belcher, 4) Carson McKeen, 5) Kevin Newell, 6) Tommy Carter, 7) Justin Moler, DNS: Marlin Farr

A Feature: 1) Dan Powers, 2) Ryan McAninch, 3) Jason McGehee, 4) Tyler Davis, 5) Brian Franz, 6) Tanner Mullens, 7) Bob Bills, 8) Kevin Newell, 9) Marc Hurd, 10) Scott Green, 11) Jon Thompson, 12) Paden Phillips, 13) Josh Lanterman, 14) Carson McKeen, 15) Ritchie Wilson, 16) Clint McFadden, 17) Richard Wilson, 18) Dustin Belcher, 19) Johnny Whitmore, 20) Kevin Kemp

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: