Monday, February 19, 2018

Championship Night at Atchison County Raceway

#96 Cody Brill & #c4 Curtis Dreasher go side by side. Reed Bros. Racing Photos

#96 Cody Brill & #c4 Curtis Dreasher go side by side. Reed Bros. Racing Photos

A great night of racing action was started with the always exciting E-Modifieds taking to the cage for competition. With point leader Chris Dishong #41 starting deep in the pack, Kit Bailey #77 would take the early lead and appear to be on his way until a late race caution would again bunch the field. On the restart Bailey would break something in the steering of his race car and Dishong would take charge and on to victory giving him both the race win and the 2015 Atchison County Raceway Track Championship. Dishong would sweep the night winning his heat race, feature event, and point title ending his season on the highest note possible. Other heat race winner Billy Spilman #63 would race his way to a solid second place showing with Nicholas Carpenter #33 third. Corey Myers #15 would recover from an early race mishap to place fourth with Casey Burnett #23b ending the night fifth. Again, your 2015 E-Modified Tack Champion #41 Chris “Rowdy” Dishong!

Hobby Stock was next to try and tame the fast 1/5th mile of dirt with heat race winner Joshua Munsen #19 using that momentum to propel him to the front and on to victory. Munsen would come from deep in the field to run down the leaders and charge by claiming the night’s top spot and 2015 Track Championship. Kyle Rowland #5 was the big mover and shaker of the race as he would climb to second place on the night with Lonnie Myers #62 finishing third. Other heat race winner Lane Chew #37 would again impress in this his rookie season notching a solid fourth with Rick Thompson #20t rounding out the nights top five. Your 2015 Hobby Stock Atchison County Raceway Track Champion is #19 Josh “Magic Man” Munsen!

Street Stock was low in number but high in quality as they screamed to the track. Brandon Crockett #98 would sweep the night winning both heat race and feature claiming not only the win but also the 2015 Track Championship. Crockett would lead every lap of the feature and on to victory leaving Gerald Wahwahsuck #11w to place second. Rich Boyden #4u would finish third with Lonnie Myers #62, pulling double duty on the night, fourth. Josiah Birkinsha #7si was in contention early until mechanical issues would force him from the track and out of the race to finish fifth. Our 2015 Atchison County Raceway Track Champion Street Stock is Brandon “The Rocket” Crockett #98!

B-Modifieds would not disappoint as they entered the cage to do battle. Heat race winner Cody Brill #96 would hold off all challengers and pick up the feature win as Curtis Dreasher #C4 would challenge late and finish a close second place. Arron Myers #14 would have another solid run with a third place finish as Matthew Lance #12x, back in a B-Mod, would finish fourth. Chance Hug #7H would race to a fifth place finish on the night. Other heat race winner was Austin Charles #81x. Atchison County Raceway 2015 B-Modified Track Champion is Cody “The Thrill” Brill #96!

Kids Mods would take to the track three strong and give us a glimpse of what the future drivers of our sport will hold. Heat race winner Cole Wayman #18 would take the early lead and never relinquish as he would see the checkers first on this night to claim his second win of the 2015 racing season. Cade Richards #1R would challenge Wayman early but fade in the later stages and place second with Dakota Earls #15E coming home a close third. Winning the 2015 Kids Mod Atchison County Raceway Track Championship is “Nitro” Nicholas Carpenter #33!

Sport Compact would see great racing action throughout the pack as Will Guthrie #78 would take the early lead and appear to be the car to beat until a late race caution would bunch the field. In the closing laps heat race winner John Willard #1/2cr would use the low line to pass Guthrie and claim the win. Guthrie would finish second with other heat race winner Barry Luthi #66b placing a solid third. William Wells #90 would be in contention the entire race finishing fourth with David Miller III ending the night fifth. 2015 Atchison County Raceway Sport Compact Track Champion for the second year in a row is “Greased Lightning” James Lemke #17!

Ending the nights racing action the Cageman Series would race the obstacle course with trees, gas grill, tires, barrels, and a few track officials in their way. When the smoke and chaos ended and the checkers fell, Gerald Wahwahsuck #11w would stand tall in victory lane. Wahwahsuck would clip a few trees, dodge a barrel or two and charge out front and on to the win. Current point leader Brad Simpson #30 would battle most of the race side by side with Cameron Seager #62 with Simpson placing second and Seager third. Brandon Leach #06, in the old pickup truck, would make sure all us on the infield had good reflexes as he would fly through the infield and on to a fourth place finish. Pete Koch #4 would again notch a consistent fifth place finish. Voted Best in Show on the night by our track officials, the finishing position #1 was drawn giving the added money to Gerald Wahwahsuck. Cageman series will crown their 2015 Champion in two weeks at the conclusion of the Trailer Smash Race.

Atchison County Raceway would like to congratulate all our winners and 2015 Track Champions. See everyone next week for the Quad Races, Powder Puff Races and Mechanic Races.

“Don’t be Afraid of the Cage”

Race Result Atchison County Raceway 10/2/2015

41 Chris Dishong (Heat Race Winner)
63 Billy Spilman (Heat Race Winner)
33 Nicholas Carpenter
15 Corey Myers
23b Casey Burnett
77 Kit Bailey
1x Aaron Sauter
8 Logan Blakley
7si Josiah Birkinsha
1 Kyle Henning

Hobby Stock:
19 Joshua Munsen (Heat Race Winner)
5 Kyle Rowland
62 Lonnie Myers
37 Lane Chew (Heat Race Winner)
20t Rick Thompson
23c Cody Satterwhite
1/2s Steven Bunton
½ Jeremy Willard
74c Colton Miller
11p Dodd Proctor
13 Darren McCray
4d Alex Boyden
18 Wayne Brooke

Street Stock:
98 Brandon Crockett (Heat Race Winner)
11w Gerald Wahwahsuck
4u Rich Boyden
62 Lonnie Myers
7si Josiah Birkinsha

96 Cody Brill (Heat Race Winner)
C4 Curtis Dreasher
14 Aaron Myers
12x Matthew Lance
7h Chance Hug
24 Tyson Young
25m Jason McClane
38 Dustin Thulin
1 Aaron Sauter
0k Kelly Kneisler
81x Austin Charles (Heat Race Winner)

Kids Mod:
18 Cole Wayman (Heat Race Winner)
1r Cade Richards
15 Dakota Earls

Sport Compact:
1/2cr John Willard (Heat Race Winner)
78 Will Guthrie
66b Barry Luthi (Heat Race Winner)
90 William Wells
55 David Miller III
3w Jason Teel
82k Chris Lewis
214 Jeremy Larabee
911 Dan Ruhnke
08 Joshua Conrad
15x Bob Loegering
03 Chuck Warman
1/2pi James Reed
8 Rocky Rhodes

Cageman Obstacle Race:
11w Gerald Wahwahsuck
30 Brad Simpson
62 Cameron Seager
06 Brandon Leach
4 Pete Koch
41 Ryan Chalfant
28 Tobin Bartlett

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: