Tuesday, November 21, 2017

Heartland Park Topeka Dirt Track Releases 2016 Schedule; Opening Night April 24th

The lights and action will return to HPT's dirt track in April 2016. Reed Bros. Racing Photo

The lights and action will return to HPT’s dirt track in April 2016. Reed Bros. Racing Photo


Topeka, KS February 16, 2016: It was just a few weeks ago that Heartland Park Topeka officials named John and Larry Lowrey as co-promoters of the dirt track. This week the announcements keep coming for 2016.

“We are very excited about getting back to racing at Heartland Park Topeka on the dirt track,” said Larry Lowrey, “Bringing IMCA into the mix is really going to jazz things up another notch.”

The core of the 2016 season will revolve around the weekly race program. During the 2016 season the weekly program will consist of IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Northern Sport Mods and IMCA Hobby Stocks.

Sunday night will host each and every point’s race for the 2016 season. Pit gates will open up at 4:00 p.m., spectator gates will follow at 4:30, hot laps will begin at 5:30 p.m. and the first green flag race of the night will start promptly at 6 p.m.

“A lot of people have asked us about what specials we are bringing in and that’s great,” said Larry Lowrey, “…but to our staff the most important thing to us is our weekly racers. The weekly racers are the ones that are putting on the show week in and week out. This season the excitement could get hot and heavy early with the talent pool of racers we have in the area and then you mix in the new faces that are going to be here to test the waters, it’s going to be fun.”

Local racers will get an opportunity for a big money special at the end of the year as Heartland Park will host the Capital City Clash on September 3rd. The Clash is the only Saturday night race on the schedule for this season. Extra money will be on the line in all four classes on this night.

The 2016 race season will consist of 14 points races and a season ending special. Racing action kicks off with a practice on April 10th, while the season opener is slated for April 24th and the racing will come to a close with Capital City Clash on Sept. 3rd.

“John and I also might be adding a special event or two, so we could say that this is our tentative schedule right now. There have been a lot of groups contacting us about racing at Heartland Park Topeka and that is exciting,” said Larry Lowrey.

2016 Heartland Park Topeka Dirt Track Race Schedule

Sunday April 10, 2016 Practice 3:00 to 6:00 p.m.
Sunday April 24, 2016 Race #1 Season Opener
Sunday May 1, 2016 Race #2
Sunday May 8, 2016 Race #3
Sunday May 29, 2016 Race #4
Sunday June 5, 2016 Race #5
Sunday June 12, 2016 Race #6
Sunday June 19, 2016 Race #7
Sunday July 3, 2016 Race #8 (Holiday Special Event)
Sunday July 10, 2016 Race #9
Sunday July 17, 2016 Race #10
Sunday August 7, 2016 Race #11
Sunday August 14, 2016 Race #12
Sunday August 21, 2016 Race #13
Sunday August 28, 2016 Race #14 Championship Night
Saturday September 3, 2016 Race #15 Capital City Clash

###

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: