Saturday, January 20, 2018

Moyer Jr. tops the field at Missouri State Fair Speedway

Billy Moyer Jr. rides to a big win at Sedalia. Lloyd Collins

Billy Moyer Jr. rides to a big win at Sedalia. Lloyd Collins

Sedalia, Missouri (April 17, 2016) – Sunday afternoon marked a return to the State Fair Speedway in Sedalia, Missouri for the Lucas Oil MLRA. A good field of 27 competitors signed in to run for the $5,000 top prize.

Justin Asplin led the field to green from the pole. An opening lap pile up caused a good deal of body damage to several cars. Once back underway only two additional quick yellows slowed the pace.

Billy Moyer Jr. ventured in from Batesville, Arkansas and was fast from hot laps. Jr. won his heat early in the day and rolled from third. He quickly took the lead and pushed on to his second win of the season and first with the Lucas Oil MLRA since 2012 in La Monte, Missouri.

“We had a heck of a car,” said Moyer Jr. following the feature. “I was just glad to win the thing.”

A 22 lap scamper to the checkers had cars racing all over the track. On a couple of occasions Moyer Jr. had to exercise patience to navigate lapped cars. Terry Phillips closed nearly to his bumper, but he was able to maneuver out of the close quarters.

The runner up finish for Phillips is his best of the season. Moving from 11th, he made a lot happen in a relatively short amount of time. Phillips also captured the Casey’s General Stores Hard Charger of the Race award.

“I always love coming here,” commented Phillips “I miss this place. I’m glad somebody got it going again here. It was a pretty good race track for a daytime race. They did all they could to get it wet early. All in all it was a good night for us.”

Rolling off just one row ahead of Phillips, Rodney Sanders worked forward into third where he finished.

“It was pretty bottom dominant,” Sanders said. “We had a good car there just a little bit too tight. I can’t say enough about Jimmy (Mars) and the guys, they’ve been working hard. I felt like we had a pretty good weekend. Just got to improve a little bit, but I think we are getting in the right direction.”

Next up for the series will be a tri-fecta of events in Iowa and Missouri in early May.

State Fair Speedway Contingencies 4/17/16

Hooker Harness “11th Place” – Robert Baker

Andy’s Frozen Custard Victory Lane – Billy Moyer Jr.

Fasttrack Photos – Billy Moyer Jr.

Crew Chief of the Race – Billy Moyer Jr

Casey’s General Stores “Hard Charger of the Race” – Terry Phillips

Sunoco “Rookie of the Race” – Tad Pospisil

Real Racing Wheels – Jacob Magee

Wehrs Machine – Curt Acker “Pole Award”- Justin Asplin

Malvern Bank & Trust “Most Laps Led” – Billy Moyer Jr

AR Bodies – Brantlee Gotschall

KRC – Austin Siebert “Hard Luck Award” – Jesse Stovall

Landrum Springs “Top Performer” – Dave Eckrich

Performance Bodies “Performer of the Race” – Terry Phillips

LucasOilRacing.TV A Feature (30 Laps): 1. Billy Moyer Jr. 2. Terry Phillips 3. Rodney Sanders 4. Jason Papich 5. Randy Timms 6. Tad Pospisil 7. Tony Jackson Jr. 8. Dave Eckrich 9. Austin Siebert 10. Dustin Walker 11. Robert Baker 12. Bryon Allison 13. Reid Millard 14. Jim Shereck 15. Payton Looney 16. Jacob Magee 17. Curt Acker 18. Brantlee Gotschall 19. Justin Asplin 20. Brandon McCormick 21. Buddy Benedict 22. Brad Looney 23. Jesse Stovall 24. JC Wyman

Impact Signs, Awnings, Wraps B Feature (8 Laps): 1. Brandon McCormick 2. Bryon Allison 3. Payton Looney 4. Reid Millard 5. Buddy Benedict 6. Jacob Magee 7. Curt Acker 8. Chad Richwine 9. Tommy Weder Jr 10. Rick Kimberling

Bilstein Shocks Heat #1 (8 Laps): Jason Papich 2. Justin Asplin 3. Austin Siebert 4. Robert Baker 5. Jim Shereck 6. Tony Jackson Jr. 7. Buddy Benedict 8. Rick Kimberling 9. Payton Looney

Casey’s General Stores Heat #2 (8 Laps): 1. Randy Timms 2. Brantlee Gotschall 3. Jesse Stovall 4. Dave Eckrich 5. Dustin Walker 6. Reid Millard 7. Curt Acker 8. Bryon Allison 9. Brad Looney

Chix Gear Race Wear Heat #3 (8 Laps): 1. Billy Moyer Jr. 2. Tad Pospisil 3. Rodney Sanders 4. Tommy Weder Jr. 5. Terry Phillips 6. JC Wyman 7. Brandon McCormick 8. Jacob Magee 9. Chad Richwine

For all of the latest news and information fans are encouraged to visit the series website at

Fans may also “like” the Lucas Oil MLRA Facebook page by clicking or follow us on Twitter at

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: