Sunday, February 25, 2018

Simpson shines on the quarter-mile in Davenport

One happy camper after getting the win. Lloyd Collins Photo

One happy camper after getting the win. Lloyd Collins Photo

Davenport, Iowa (May 6, 2016) – Friday’s 2nd Annual Short Track Challenge at Davenport Speedway in Davenport, Iowa, boasted another good field of competitors. Following an impressive run Thursday night, Oxford, Iowa’s Chris Simpson finished two spots better Friday and ended his evening in Andy’s Frozen Custard Victory Lane.

Simpson started the race from the pole and led the entire way in a 40 lap caution free feature. It was his first win of the season, and it came aboard his new Longhorn Chassis.

“I really thought somebody would roll me on the outside and obviously Gustin was coming,” said Simpson. “Man I was wasting a lot of time down there hitting those holes. You just don’t ever leave the place where you are leading from. We had a good car. It’s cool to win here. My whole family’s here.”

Ryan Gustin finished as the night’s runner up. He moved towards the middle of the track in the race’s waning stages and marched forward. On the final lap, Gustin had one last burst of speed and came up just short of Simpson in a finish which brought the crowd to it’s feet.

“The track was awesome, you could race all over it,” Gustin shared. “It was a great night. This car was a hundred times better than what we had last night.”

Terry Phillips raced between second and fourth the entire distance of the feature. Battling back and forth with Gustin and Jesse Stovall, Phillips ended with the final spot on the podium.

“We had a heck of a race for second, third and fourth,” commented Phillips. “The choppiness in the track kinda made it a little racier than I thought it was going to be. I like coming to this short track. This little track is a racy son of a gun.”

The Casey’s General Stores Hard Charger Award went to Brian Birkhofer. He was buried back in his heat early on and ran second in the B Feature. When the money was on the line, Birky went from 18th to 11th.

Saturday concludes the Lucas Oil MLRA weekend. The tour heads south of Davenport to the Scotland County Speedway in Memphis, Missouri.

Lee County Speedway Contingencies 5/5/16
Hooker Harness “11th Place” – Terry Phillips
Andy’s Frozen Custard Victory Lane – Brandon Sheppard
Fasttrack Photos – Brandon Sheppard
Crew Chief of the Race – Randall Edwards
Casey’s General Stores “Hard Charger of the Race” – Jason Papich
Sunoco “Rookie of the Race” – Tad Pospisil
Real Racing Wheels – JC Wyman
Wehrs Machine – Spencer Diercks “Pole Award”- Brian Birkhofer
Malvern Bank & Trust “Most Laps Led” – Brandon Sheppard
AR Bodies – Tad Pospisil
KRC – Austin Siebert “Hard Luck Award” – Brian Birkhofer
Landrum Springs “Top Performer” – Chris Simpson
Performance Bodies “Performer of the Race” – Brandon Sheppard

Davenport Speedway Contingencies 5/6/16
Hooker Harness “11th Place” – Brian Birkhofer
Andy’s Frozen Custard Victory Lane – Chris Simpson
Fasttrack Photos – Chris Simpson
Crew Chief of the Race – Chris Simpson
Casey’s General Stores “Hard Charger of the Race” – Brian Birkhofer
Sunoco “Rookie of the Race” – Tad Pospisil
Real Racing Wheels – Bryon Allison
Wehrs Machine – Jason Rauen “Pole Award”- Chris Simpson
Malvern Bank & Trust “Most Laps Led” – Chris Simpson
AR Bodies – Tad Pospisil
KRC – Jacob Magee “Hard Luck Award” – Brantlee Gotschall
Landrum Springs “Top Performer” – Chris Simpson
Performance Bodies “Performer of the Race” – Ryan Gustin A Feature (40 Laps): 1. Chris Simpson 2. Ryan Gustin 3. Terry Phillips 4. Jesse Stovall 5. Chad Simpson 6. Dave Eckrich 7. Jacob Magee 8. Jason Papich 9. Justin Reed 10. Chris Spieker 11. Brian Birkhofer 12. JC Wyman 13. Brent Larson 14. Justin Kay 15. Denny Eckrich 16. Ray Guss Jr 17. Jorday Yaggy 18. Tad Pospisil 19.Austin Siebert 20. Jay Johnson 21. Jason Rauen 22. Stephen Kammerer 23. Bryon Allison 24. Brantlee Gotschall

Impact Signs, Awnings, Wraps B Feature (15 Laps): 1. JC Wyman 2. Brian Birkhofer 3. Brantlee Gotschall 4. Jay Johnson 5. Justin Kay 6. Stephen Krammerer 7. Paul Parker 8. Matt Furman 9. Spencer Diercks 10. Bryon Allison 11. Chuck Hanna 12. Jay Chenowith 13. Josh Poe 14. Brad Stewart 15. Sam Halstead 16. Mike Fryer 17. Tad Pospisil

Bilstein Shocks Heat 1 (10 laps): 1. Chris Simpson 2. Jesse Stovall 3. Chris Spieker 4. Jason Rauen 5. Stephen Kammerer 6. Brantlee Gotschall 7. Sam Halstead 8. Chuck Hanna 9. Brad Stewart

Casey’s General Stores Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. Dave Eckrich 2. Justin Reed 3. Denny Eckrich 4. Ray Guss Jr 5. Jay Johnson 6. Josh Poe 7. Justin Kay 8. Jay Chenowith

Chix Gear Race Wear Heat 3 (10 Laps): 1. Terry Phillips 2. Ryan Gustin 3. Jason Papich 4. Austin Siebert 5. JC Wyman 6. Paul Parker 7. Bryon Allison 8. Tad Pospisil

Malvern Bank Heat 4 (10 Laps): 1. Chad Simpson 2. Jacob Magee 3. Brent Larson 4. Jordan Yaggy 5. Mike Fryer 6. Brian Birkhofer 7. Spencer Diercks 8. Matt Furman

For all of the latest news and information fans are encouraged to visit the series website at

Fans may also “like” the Lucas Oil MLRA Facebook page by clicking or follow us on Twitter at

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: