Wednesday, January 17, 2018

USMTS fires up for four night straight nights May 19-22

H25A7946WICHITA, Kan. (May 18) — The United States Modified Touring Series kicks off the first of four straight nights of racing action — and first of nine over the next 13 days — this Thursday, May 19, at the 81 Speedway in Park City, Kan.

The four-night, four-track excursion heads to Oklahoma for the next three nights, beginning with a stop at Outlaw Motor Speedway in Oktaha on Friday, and then on to the Salina Highbanks Speedway in Pryor Creek on Saturday. The swing wraps up Sunday at the Longdale Speedway.

All four of the events for the USMTS Casey’s Cup powered by S&S Fishing & Rental will pay $3,000 to win and award valuable points in the hotly-contested MSD Central Region presented by Day Motor Sports.


In the six previous trips to C. Ray Hall’s 81 Speedway near Wichita, Kan., Jeremy Payne and Rodney Sanders each have two wins, with Payne taking the most recent victory last August during the Hunt for the USMTS Casey’s Cup.

Stormy Scott won the 2014 ‘Hunt’ race and current MSD Central Region points leader Jason Hughes captured the inaugural event in 2008.

NCRA Modifieds will compete alongside the USMTS stars and cars while the NCRA Mod Lites will kick off their 2016 season this Thursday too. Gates open at 5 p.m. with race action slated for a 7:30 start time. Grandstand admission is $20.

Race fans can get discount coupons good for $2 off adult general admission at Casey’s General Stores locations in Derby, Haysville, Maize, Newton, Rose Hill, Valley Center and Wichita on race day. To find the location nearest you, visit

The 81 Speedway is located north of Wichita on I-135 to exit 16, then 0.7 miles west on 77th St. in Park City. For more race and ticket information contact the 81 Speedway office (316) 755-1781 or check out their website at


The Outlaw Motor Speedway welcomes back the open-wheel mud-slinging USMTS monsters after a one-year hiatus on Friday, May 20, for the series’ lone stop of the year atop the 3/8-mile high-banked clay oval near Muskogee.

Stormy Scott, Rodney Sanders, Kelly Shryock, Johnny Scott, Ryan Gustin, Tommy Myer and Jason Hughes are all past winners here. With wins in 2003 and 2010, Hughes is the only driver to visit the winner’s circle twice.

IMCA Modifieds and IMCA Sport Modifieds will be in action as well on Friday’s card. Gates open at 5 p.m. with racing action going green at 7:30.

Race fans can get discount coupons good for $2 off adult general admission at the Casey’s General Stores location in Muskogee on race day. To find the location nearest you, visit

The Outlaw Motor Speedway is located southwest of Muskogee on US 69 to the Wainwright Exit, then 0.1 miles west. It is approximately 12 miles north of the I-40 and US 69 interchange. For more information, contact the track at 918-625-6200 or check online at


The gear-grinding goliaths of the USMTS return to the Salina Highbanks Speedway on Saturday for what promises to be yet another classic nail-biter.

Jason Hughes was the winner when the USMTS made its first appearance here in 2004. He returned to the track’s winners circle two more times when the USMTS visited in 2013. Jeremy Payne, Bryan Rowland, Ryan Gustin, Stormy Scott and Terry Phillips have also tasted victory at Salina. Last year’s event was rained out.

Pits open at 3 p.m., grandstands gates swing open at 5, hot laps begin at 6:30 and races start at 7. Pure Stocks, Grand Nationals and B-Mods will be running also.

Discount coupons good for $2 off adult general admission re available on race day at Casey’s General Stores locations in Wagoner and Tahlequah, as well as Siloam Springs on the Arkansas side of the border. To find the location nearest you, visit

The Salina Highbanks Speedway is located 7 miles east of Pryor on SR 20. For more information, visit the website at or call 918-434-7223.


The fire-breathing USMTS speed freaks will be in action Sunday at the Longdale speedway, which boasts 22-degree-tall straight-aways and 26 degrees of banking in the turns.

Stormy Scott christened the new joint with a victory over a 42-car field in 2014, and his twin brother, Johnny Scott, was the winner when the series visited the facility last year.

This year’s $3,000-to-win clash will be held in memory of Alyssa Ramirez, who lost her life in a tragic car accident near Woodward, Okla., on Jan. 29.

Pit gates will open at 4 p.m. with grandstands opening at 5:30, hot laps at 6:30 and opening ceremonies at 7:30 with heat races immediately following. Also on the card are IMCA Mods and Sport Mods.

Adult grandstand tickets are $15, seniors and military with ID are $12 and kids ages 6-12 get in for $5. Children 5 and under are admitted free of charge. Pit passes are $35.

The Longdale Speedway is located about 0.5 mile south of Longdale on SR 58. For more information, check out or call 580-886-5375.

(After 4 of 13 events)

1. 12 Jason Hughes, Watts, Okla. … 382 (2 wins)
2. 99 Jesse Sobbing, Malvern, Iowa … 340 (1 win)
3. 97 Cade Dillard, Robeline, La. … 331 )1 win)
4. 20 Rodney Sanders, Happy, Texas … 330
5. 4r Dereck Ramirez, Woodward, Okla. … 312
6. 22d Daniel Hilsabeck, Adel, Iowa … 298
7. 5 Todd Shute, Des Moines, Iowa … 291
8. 33z Zack VanderBeek, New Sharon, Iowa … 262
9. 91 Joe Duvall, Claremore, Okla. … 261
10. 20rt Ricky Thornton Jr., Chandler, Ariz. … 255
11. 37 Mike Jergens, Plover, Iowa … 239
12. 1st Johnny Scott, Las Cruces, N.M. … 228
13. 4 Cody Bauman, Eureka, Ill. … 217
14. 6 Brock Bauman, Eureka, Ill. … 213
15. 02 Tanner Mullens, Wichita, Kan. … 206

To learn more about the United States Modified Touring Series, visit online or call 515-832-7944. You can also like us on Facebook at, follow us on Twitter at and Instagram at or subscribe to our YouTube channel at

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USMTS OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing Tires, Argo Manufacturing, Casey’s General Stores, Chix Gear Racewear, COMP Cams, CP-Carrillo, Day Motor Sports, Deatherage Opticians, Fast Shafts, Intercomp, Jerovetz Motorsports Shock Service, Kevko Oil Pans & Components, KSE Racing Products, Leaf Racewear & Safety Equipment, Malvern Trust & Savings Bank, MSD,,,, S&S Fishing & Rental, The Joie of Seating, VP Racing Fuels.

USMTS PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: AMP Energy Drink, Arizona Sport Shirts, ASi Racewear, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Duvall Electric,, Erson Cams, I-29 Trailer Sales, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Oreo, Production Jars, Rivers Edge Scrap Management, Snickers, Sour Patch Kids,

USMTS CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AFCO Racing Products, Allstar Performance, Bell Helmets, Beyea Custom Headers, BSB Manufacturing, Driven Racing Oil, Edelbrock, Eibach Springs, FK Rod Ends, Forty9 Designs, Fuel Safe Racing Cells, Genesis Racing Shocks, GRT Race Cars, Holley Performance Products, Hooker Custom Harness, Integra Shocks & Springs, Keyser Manufacturing, Midwest Sheet Metal, Out-Pace Racing Products, PBM Performance Products, QA1 Precision Products, Quarter Master, Real Racing Wheels, Sybesma Graphics, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products, Wilwood Engineering.

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: