Saturday, February 24, 2018

Chris Simpson outduels Mars for MLRA win at Lee County

Chris Simpson and family in victory lane. Lloyd Collins FastTrackPhotos.Net

Chris Simpson and family in victory lane. Lloyd Collins FastTrackPhotos.Net

Donnellson, Iowa (June 3, 2016) – Friday night marked the Lucas Oil MLRA’s second stop of the season at the Lee County Speedway. A total of 35 cars checked into the pit area to do battle for the $3,000 top prize.

Jimmy Mars brought the field to the green flag from his pole position alongside front row starter Tony Jackson Jr. Oxford, Iowa’s Chris Simpson wasted no time in marching to the runner-up spot from his 5th starting position to contend for the race lead with Mars.

As the Lucas Oil Racing TV feature event neared the mid-point the race leaders encountered heavy lap traffic in an event that would go caution free. Simpson tried numerous times to overtake Mars for the lead to no avail, but finally with just 6 laps remaining Simpson was able to pin his Longhorn chassis to the bottom of turn 4 and overtake Mars for the lead and eventual win.

In Andy’s Frozen Custard Victory Lane Simpson commented on the battle with Mars. “We both had really good cars, and sometimes running 2nd at that point is where you need to be to see where he’s losing a little and I’m gaining a little.” As for the pass for the race lead Simpson said, “I just kept arching it into three really good and getting a straight run off of 4, and I’m pretty sure that won me the race.”

Mars was able to hold onto the runner-up position ahead of Tony Jackson Jr., Jesse Stovall, and Rodney Sanders. Mars said, “I didn’t want to give that up (the lead), but I got screwed up off turn four one time and I guess that’s all it took.” The classy veteran went on to say, “We’ve won races like that before and it just wasn’t our night to do that.”

Jackson remained within striking distance of the leaders, but was fortunate to hang onto yet another podium finish. “We got into a lapped car and cut my left front tire down. I would have liked to have seen a yellow, but after the flat tire come I was just glad to see the checkered come out,” commented Jackson.

Mars picked up the Malvern Trust & Savings Bank “Most Laps Led” award for leading 34 of the events 40 laps, while Ryan Gustin captured the Casey’s “Hard Charger” award for improving 8 places to finish 10th.

Saturday Night will conclude the Lucas Oil MLRA’s weekend swing as action moves to the Randolph County Raceway in Moberly, Missouri for another $3,000 to win event.

Lucas Oil Racing TV A Feature (40 Laps): 1. Chris Simpson 2. Jimmy Mars 3. Tony Jackson Jr. 4. Jesse Stovall 5. Rodney Sanders 6. Tad Pospisil 7. Rickey Frankel 8. Tommy Weder Jr. 9. Justin Kay 10. Ryan Gustin 11. Dave Eckrich 12. JC Wyman 13. Joe Godsey 14. Austin Siebert 15. Terry Phillips 16. Jason Feger 17. Chad Simpson 18. Jason Utter 19. Spencer Diercks 20. Jason Papich 21. Brantlee Gotschall 22. Randy Timms 23. Dustin Griffin 24. Mark Burgtorf

Hoosier Racing Tires B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. Jason Feger 2. Chad Simpson 3. Jason Utter 4. Brent Larson 5. Jason Perry 6. Todd Frank 7. Nathan Vawter 8. Richard Weber 9. Bryon Allison (DNS) 10. Jordan Yaggy (DNS) B Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. Ryan Gustin 2. Terry Phillips 3. Randy Timms 4. Brantlee Gotschall 5. Jason Papich 6. Jason Rauen 7. Justin Reed 8. Jay Johnson 9. Denny Woodworth

Bilstein Shocks Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. Tony Jackson Jr. 2. Joe Godsey 3. Dave Eckrich 4. Mark Burgtorf 5. Jason Feger 6. Jason Utter 7. Denny Woodworth 8. Brantlee Gotschall 9. Jason Papich

Casey’s General Stores Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. Jesse Stovall 2. Jimmy Mars 3. Rodney Sanders 4. JC Wyman 5. Jay Johnson 6. Jason Perry 7. Brent Larson 8. Richard Weber 9. Jordan Yaggy

Chix Gear Racewear Heat 3 (10 Laps): 1. Chris Simpson 2. Justin Kay 3. Austin Siebert 4. Tommy Weder Jr. 5. Chad Simpson 6. Jason Rauen 7. Randy Timms 8. Justin Reed 9. Nathan Vawter

Malvern Bank Heat 4 (10 Laps): 1.Rickey Frankel 2. Tad Pospisil 3. Spencer Diercks 4. Dustin Griffin 5. Ryan Gustin 6. Terry Phillips 7. Todd Frank 8. Bryon Allison

Lee County Speedway Contingencies 6/3/16

Hooker Harness “11th Place” – Dave Eckrich
Andy’s Frozen Custard Victory Lane – Chris Simpson
Fasttrack Photos – Chris Simpson
Crew Chief of the Race – Dillon Disterhoft
Casey’s General Stores “Hard Charger of the Race” – Ryan Gustin
Sunoco “Rookie of the Race” – Tad Pospisil
Real Racing Wheels – Jason Papich
Wehrs Machine – Spencer Diercks “Pole Award”- Jimmy Mars
Malvern Bank & Trust “Most Laps Led” – Jimmy Mars
AR Bodies – JC Wyman
KRC – Justin Kay “Hard Luck Award” – Randy Timms
Landrum Springs “Top Performer” – Chris Simpson
Performance Bodies “Performer of the Race” – Ryan Gustin

For all of the latest news and information fans are encouraged to visit the series website at

Fans may also “like” the Lucas Oil MLRA Facebook page by clicking or follow us on Twitter at

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: