Thursday, February 22, 2018

Former Champions Return to Victory Lane

Daniel Gottschalk on the way to a win. Dusty Wiegert Photo

Daniel Gottschalk on the way to a win. Dusty Wiegert Photo

After a three week lull in the action at the Salina Speedway in Salina, Kansas due to unfavorable weather the 3/8 mile came back to life on June 3.

On this night, presented by Virg’s Auto Repair, four out of five division feature winners were past champions. And of those five winners, not one driver came from closer than seventh starting position on a very competitive night.

Tyler Frye continues to impress in his rookie season, and picked up another feature win in the Long McArthur IMCA Modified division. Coming from the eighth place position on the grid he worked past Larry Sutton and distanced the rest of the field to capture Victory. Sutton finished second, with Brian Knoell and Corey Lagroon both coming from the back after early incidents to finish third and fourth. Shannon Johnson and Frye won the heat races.

Delbert Smith finally captured a win in the feature event for the BSB Manufacturing NeSmith Late Model division after battling his son Daniel for the lead. The Iceman started seventh and was first across the line followed by Dusty Leonard, Daniel Smith, and Chris Kratzer. Delbert Smith and Kratzer won the heat races.

Michael Pepper rallied late to pick up his second feature win in the Coors Light IMCA Stock Car division in as many visits. A late caution allowed Pepper to catch up and work past Tanner Portenier for the win. Tanner Thiel picked off the runner-up spot with Portenier third and Scott Miller fourth. Jerry Phillips and Miller won the heat races.

Coming from the furthest back of all the divisions to win was Daniel Gottschalk in the M&H Motors IMCA Northern SportMod division. Gottschalk came from eleventh to slip past Dakota Sproul for another triumph. Sproul finished second, Tyler Watts third, and Brian Davidson fourth. Watts and Sproul won the heat races.

Eighth starting Mike Traskowsky was able to hold off Tommy Fose to win the feature for the Budweiser IMCA Hobby Stock division. Shay Simoneau came in third with Tony Slothower fourth. Traskowsky and Simoneau won the heat races.

Racing continues on Friday June 10th with the same five divisions along with the addition of the Bird Contracting IMCA Sport Compacts.

For more information on the Salina Speedway visit or call 785.292.9220

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: