Tuesday, January 23, 2018

Charles, Whitney IMCA Winners at Atchison County Raceway!

Tom Charles returns to the cage for a big win. Reed Bros. Racing Photos

Tom Charles returns to the cage for a big win. Reed Bros. Racing Photos

Brown Construction Kids Mods would set the night of great racing action in motion with four different leaders. Destyn Whitney #58 would lead early until problems in turn two would move Cade Richards #1R to the point. Sturgis Streeter #34S would take the lead but fade late as heat race winner Dakota Earls #15E would charge to the front. Earls and Richards would have contact in turn four as Earls would pick up the win. Whitney would end the night second, Streeter third with Richards recovering for fourth. Laine Grenier #25 would have issues in turn number two forcing him to finish fifth of the night.

Hobby Stock would charge to the cage with Josiah Birkinsha #7SI picking up his second win in as many weeks at Atchison County Raceway. Birkinsha would use poise and patience working the high side to perfection passing all challengers on his way to victory. Early leader and heat race winner Aaron Meyers #14 would have his best run of 2016 with a solid second place showing. Wayne Brooke #18 would battle to a third place finish holding Carson Masoner #20X to finish fourth. Fifth place would see current point leader Tobin Bartlett #28 have another consistent and steady race. Other heat race winner was Lonnie Myers #62.

E-Modifieds would be in fine form as they would take to the 1/5th mile of dirt. Matt Dorssom #3D would charge to the front and on to his first win of the 2016 season inside the cage. Second place would belong to Justin Asher #74 as he raced from the back of the pack to the front passing third place finisher Chris Dishong #41 on the last lap of competition. Josh Munsen #19X and Bubba Beam #83 would dual to the checkers with Munsen fourth and Beam fifth respectably. Heat race winners were Matthew Lance #12X and the 20X of Randy Smith Jr.

IMCA Stock Cars would see a first time winner in 2016 as heat race winner Brad Whitney #X9 would take the feature event. Whitney would be challenged late by the #20P of Jim Powell Jr. as lap traffic would come into play forcing Powell to finish second. Marvin Griffith Jr. #75M would have another solid run placing third with Jon Boller Jr. #20X ending the night forth. Josh Steele #94A continues his consistent racing with another top five finish. Other heat race winner was Greg Keuhn #6X who was leading when his steering broke forcing him from the race.

IMCA Modified would witness great racing from start to finish on a near perfect racing surface. Heat race winner Steven Bowers Jr. #77 would take the early lead appearing to be the car to beat running the high side of the race track. As Bowers Jr. would work the high side, Hall of Famer Tom Charles #81 would use the low line to perfection taking over the top spot. Charles would not be denied on this night of competition as he would park the Butrick Racing Family Modified in victory lane. Bowers Jr. would finish second with Rodney Schweizer #74 a very close third. Brayden Black #1B would finish the night fourth with Tony Layne #71 rounding out the nights top five. Other heat race winner was the #63 of Derrick Brown who was among the front runners until contact would take him from the race.

Sport Compact would see the familiar face of John Willard #1/2CR as he would pick up his third feature win in a row and fourth overall at Atchison County Raceway. Willard would work through the pack passing all challengers on his way to the feature win. Heat race winner Blake Hensley #06 would lead early slipping to second behind Willard. Third and fourth would see Jason Teel #7 and Toby Teel #7T as the race came to an end. Other heat race winner Steven Bunton #1/2B would end the night with a solid fifth place finish. Sport Compact was deemed best in show by our track officials with the finishing position of second drawn with Blake Hensley picking up the added cash.

Point leaders were honored on the front straight after all the features were complete. Point leaders are as follows: IMCA Modified Steven Bowers Jr. #77, IMCA Stock Car Jim Powell Jr. #20P, E-Modified Chris Dishong #41, Hobby Stock Tobin Bartlett #28, Kids Mods Destyn Whitney #58, Sport Compact John Willard #1/2CR, Cageman Brad Simpson #30. Congratulations to all of our fans who jumped in the hay and came out with cash during our short intermission. And thanks to Phil Birkinsha for the outstanding fireworks display after the night of great racing action. See everyone next week at Atchison County Raceway and remember, “Don’t be Afraid of the Cage”!!!

Race Results Atchison County Raceway 7/01/2016:
John Brown Construction Kids Mods:
⦁ 15E Dakota Earls (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 58 Destyn Whitney
⦁ 34S Sturgis Streeter
⦁ 1R Cade Richards
⦁ 25 Laine Grenier

Hobby Stock:
⦁ 7SI Josiah Birkinsha
⦁ 14 Aaron Myers (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 18 Wayne Brooke
⦁ 20X Carson Masoner
⦁ 28 Tobin Bartlett
⦁ 19 Bill Munsen
⦁ 7SIS Philisa Birkinsha
⦁ 47X Connor Masoner
⦁ 28W Chuck Warman
⦁ B5 George Bruning
⦁ 4D Alex Boyden
⦁ 62 Lonnie Myers (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 5 Kyle Rowland

⦁ 3D Matt Dorssom
⦁ 74 Justin Asher
⦁ 41 Chris Dishong
⦁ 19X Joshua Munsen
⦁ 83 Bubba Beam
⦁ 16 Paul Lanfermann
⦁ 66X Jim Masoner Jr.
⦁ 23B Casey Burnett
⦁ 07 Adam Schelert
⦁ 12X Matthew Lance (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 20X Randy Smith Jr. (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 55B John Christofferson
⦁ 63 Billy Spilman
⦁ 15 Corey Myers

IMCA Stockcar:
⦁ X9 Brad Whitney (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 20P Jim Powell Jr.
⦁ 75M Marvin Griffith Jr.
⦁ 20X Jon Boller Jr.
⦁ 94J Josh Steele
⦁ 22A Alvie Christofferson
⦁ 33 Mark Ronnebaum
⦁ 83 Aaron Sauter
⦁ 6X Greg Keuhn (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 26M Gary Myers

IMCA Modified:
⦁ 81 Tom Charles
⦁ 77 Steven Bowers Jr. (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 74 Rodney Schweizer
⦁ 1B Brayden Black
⦁ 71 Tony Layne
⦁ 95 Ashley Schaaf
⦁ 1R Matt Richards
⦁ 47X Tyson Lanfermann
⦁ 41 Shane Florence
⦁ 33 Nicholas Carpenter
⦁ 63 Derrick Brown (Heat Race Winner)

Sport Compact:
⦁ 1/2 CR John Willard
⦁ 06 Blake Hensley (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 7 Jason Teel
⦁ 7T Toby Teel
⦁ 1/2B Steven Bunton (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 17 James Lemke
⦁ 08 Josh Conrad
⦁ 55 David Miller III
⦁ 18M Brandon Merriman
⦁ 9 Christian Pease
⦁ 66B Barry Luthi

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: