Thursday, February 22, 2018

USMTS heats up with five races in six days July 14-19

Photos by Fizzle.

Photos by Fizzle.

WEBSTER CITY, Iowa (July 12) — After a three-week summer vacation that saw several USMTS drivers get some well-deserved rest and relaxation while others stampeded into various dirt modified events and looted the prize money like a one-armed bandit, the stars and cars of the USMTS Casey’s Cup powered by S&S Fishing & Rental are back on the clock this week with five races in six days.

All five shows will see the winner walk away with $3,000 while every feature race starter will earn at least $250.

Action kicks off this Thursday, July 14, with the 12th Annual USMTS Stars & Stripes Shootout at the Dodge County Speedway in Kasson, Minn.-a Northern Region event that was rained out earlier this season.

The event, which takes place during the Dodge County Fair, will also feature Street Stocks, Midwest Mods, Super Stocks, Outlaw Mini-Mods, Pure Stocks and Hornets.

The pit gate opens at 3:30, grandstands open at 4:30 and the first race takes the green flag at 6:30.

On Friday, July 15, the mud-chucking United States Modified Touring Series machines invade the Fayette County Speedway in West Union, Iowa, for the 4th Annual Pink Out/Cancer Awareness Night in the Northern Region.

The show will be “kickin’ cancer’s butt, one lap at a time” featuring the Karsyn’s Krusaders grill car and more. Fans are encouraged to wear pink to show your support for cancer research and survivors.

Gates open at 4:00 with hot laps at 7:00 and racing at 7:30. Tickets are $18 and pit passes are $30. Holley USRA Stock Cars, Out-Pace USRA B-Mods, USRA Hobby Stocks and Flyers will also be in competition.

Returning to battle in the MSD Central Region presented by Day Motor Sports, the series makes its annual stop and the Johnson family’s I-35 Speedway in Winston, Mo., on Saturday, July 16, for the 8th Annual Seeburg Mufflers Missouri Meltdown.

The USMTS will be sharing the spotlight with the Wingless Auto Racing Series (WAR) Non-Wing Sprint Cars, Out-Pace USRA B Mods and E-Mods with gates opening at 4:00, hot laps at 6:15 and races starting at 7:00.

General admission is $20, kids ages 7-12 are $8, children 6 and under get in for free. Pit passes are $35. For suite availability, call (660) 749-5317.

On Monday, July 18, the tireless USMTS touring titans return to the Iowa State Fair Speedway in Des Moines, Iowa, for some unfinished business from last month.

Rained out June 14 after heat races were completed, all that’s left to do is run the main event. New drivers not already locked in can show up and start behind the drivers already qualified for the feature race.

Stock Cars, Trucks and Hobby Stocks will also be racing. Hot laps start at 6:00 with racing at 6:30.

And then on Tuesday, July 19, by popular demand the USMTS Casey’s Cup powered by S&S Fishing & Rental returns to the Southern Iowa Speedway in Oskaloosa, Iowa, for the 11th Annual USMTS Summer Classic.

The tripleheader event at the ‘Mahaska County Monster’ will also showcase the Iron Man Series featuring Holley USRA Stock Cars and Out-Pace USRA B-Mods on the menu.

Gates open at 5:00 with hot laps at 6:45 and racing at 7:00. Adult general admission tickets are $20, Kids ages 11-6 are $10 and children 10 and younger get in for free.


MSD Central Region:
1. 12 Jason Hughes, Watts, Okla. … 777 (3 wins)
2. 99 Jesse Sobbing, Malvern, Iowa … 761 (1 win)
3. 97 Cade Dillard, Robeline, La. … 735 (2 wins)
4. 4r Dereck Ramirez, Woodward, Okla. … 712
5. 22d Daniel Hilsabeck, Adel, Iowa … 611
6. 37 Mike Jergens (R), Plover, Iowa … 593
7. 19r Ryan Gustin, Marshalltown, Iowa … 564 (1 win)
8. 91 Joe Duvall, Claremore, Okla. … 549
9. 1st Johnny Scott, Las Cruces, N.M. … 529 (1 win)
10. 20 Rodney Sanders, Happy, Texas … 517
11. 33z Zack VanderBeek, New Sharon, Iowa … 506
12. 02 Tanner Mullens, Wichita, Kan. … 496
13. 4 Cody Bauman (R), Eureka, Ill. … 478
14. 6 Brock Bauman (R), Eureka, Ill. … 461
15. 21t Lance Town, Louisburg, Kan. … 455
Other winner:
20. 75 Terry Phillips, Springfield, Mo. (1 win) Northern Region:
1. 12 Jason Hughes, Watts, Okla. … 651 (4 wins)
2. 97 Cade Dillard, Robeline, La. … 600
3. 1st Johnny Scott, Las Cruces, N.M. … 560
4. 21 Jacob Bleess (R), Chatfield, Minn. … 536
5. 60 Dan Ebert, Lake Shore, Minn. … 510
6. 69 Lucas Schott, Chatfield, Minn. … 508
7. 99 Jesse Sobbing, Malvern, Iowa … 497
8. 20rt Ricky Thornton Jr. (R), Chandler, Ariz. … 438
9. 00 Masen Big Eagle, Manor, Sask., Canada … 420
10. 20 Rodney Sanders, Happy, Texas … 413 (1 win)
11. 01 Joey Galloway, Emo, Ont., Canada … 387
12. 4 Cody Bauman (R), Eureka, Ill. … 384
13. 6 Brock Bauman (R), Eureka, Ill. … 343
14. 2s Stormy Scott, Arroyo Hondo, N.M. … 342
15. N81 Mike Densberger (R), Lincoln, Neb. … 337
Other winners:
17. 33z Zack VanderBeek, New Sharon, Iowa (1 win)
21. 10 Austin Arneson, Fargo, N.D. (1 win)

The final event in the MSD Central Region will take place on Friday and Saturday, July 22-23, during the $5,000-to-win 6th Annual Silver Dollar Nationals at the I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, Neb., in conjunction with the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series.

To learn more about the United States Modified Touring Series, visit online or call 515-832-7944. You can also like us on Facebook at, follow us on Twitter at and Instagram at or subscribe to our YouTube channel at

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USMTS OFFICIAL SPONSORS: Alpinestars, American Racer Racing Tires, Argo Manufacturing, Casey’s General Stores, Chix Gear Racewear, COMP Cams, CP-Carrillo, Day Motor Sports, Deatherage Opticians, Fast Shafts, Intercomp, Jerovetz Motorsports Shock Service, Kevko Oil Pans & Components, KSE Racing Products, Leaf Racewear & Safety Equipment, Malvern Trust & Savings Bank, MSD,,,, S&S Fishing & Rental, The Joie of Seating, VP Racing Fuels.

USMTS PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: AMP Energy Drink, Arizona Sport Shirts, ASi Racewear, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Duvall Electric,, Erson Cams, I-29 Trailer Sales, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Oreo, Production Jars, Rivers Edge Scrap Management, Snickers, Sour Patch Kids,

USMTS CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AFCO Racing Products, Allstar Performance, Bell Helmets, Beyea Custom Headers, BSB Manufacturing, Driven Racing Oil, Edelbrock, Eibach Springs, FK Rod Ends, Forty9 Designs, Fuel Safe Racing Cells, Genesis Racing Shocks, GRT Race Cars, Holley Performance Products, Hooker Custom Harness, Integra Shocks & Springs, Keyser Manufacturing, Midwest Sheet Metal, Out-Pace Racing Products, PBM Performance Products, QA1 Precision Products, Quarter Master, Real Racing Wheels, Sybesma Graphics, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products, Wilwood Engineering.

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: