Sunday, January 21, 2018

Streeter Logs 2nd Win In The Cage!

Harley looks over the winning car of Steven Bowers Jr. Reed Bros. Racing Photos

Harley looks over the winning car of Steven Bowers Jr. Reed Bros. Racing Photos

The young lions of our sport would enter the cage and set the standard of racing excellence in the John Brown Constructions Kids Mods division. Heat race winner Destyn Whitney#58 would take the early lead circling the 1/5th mile of dirt to perfection. Whitney would slip once in turn #2 allowing Sturgis Streeter #34S to make the pass and race his way to his second victory in a row. Streeter would not be challenged as Whitney would fade to second with the 1R of Cade Richards a very close third place finish. Dakota Earls #15E would end the night fourth with Laine Grenier #25 rounding out the nights top five.

Hobby Stock would see a familiar face standing tall in victory lane as Tobin Bartlett #28 would lead every lap and capture the win. Bartlett would be challenged late by Lane Chew #37 who was the big mover of the feature coming from ninth to finish second. Lonnie Myers #62 would again grace the top five with a solid third place showing. Fourth and fifth would be the battle of the two heat race winners at Wayne Brooke #18 and Aaron Myers #14 would finish in that order respectably.

E Modified would witness Corey Meyers #15 jump to the early lead and never relinquish picking up the feature win. Heat race winner Joshua Munsen #19X would hold off a fast 12X of Matthew Lance to finish second holding Lance to third. Other heat race winner Kyle Henning #1 would move thru the pack to finish fourth with Billy Spilman #63 a very close fifth.
A new face would emerge in the IMCA Stock Car class as Brad Derry #37D would race his way to the front of the field in the feature win. Dominic Thyfault #27 would win his heat race and use that momentum for a solid second place finish in the feature. Current point leader Jim Powell Jr. # 20P would be in the hunt for the win all night ending with a third place finish. Fourth and fifth would find the two Wahwahsuck brothers with Mike #10W claiming fourth and Gerald #11W fifth. Other heat race winner was #75M Marvin Griffith Jr. who was in the hunt until contact would take him from the race. IMCA Stock Car was deemed best of show by track officials with position #9 being drawn with Marvin Griffith Jr. picking up the extra cash.

Steven Bowers Jr. #77 would win both heat race and feature on this night in the IMCA Modified division. Bowers would use a late race caution to get past the #33 of Nicholas Carpenter and cruise onto victory leaving Carpenter to finish second. Rodney Schweizer #74 would again show consistency racing thru the pack to finish third. Fourth place finisher Tony Layne #71 and other heat race winner Mike Eisenhut #2 would battle back and forth the entire race forcing Eisenhut to finish the feature in fifth place.

Sport Compact would see an 18 car field take the green flag on the fast smooth 1/5th mile of dirt. As the green flag flew a multiple car mishap in turn 2 would send Christian Pease #9 on his top into the infield taking several contenders from the feature. As the race developed Josh Conrad #08 would charge thru the field passing all challengers on his way to his second feature win in a row. Conrad was challenged late by heat race winner Will Guthrie #78 as the two would race side by side towards the checkers. Guthrie would end the night second with a hard charging James Lemke #17 third. Another heat race winner Toby Teel #7T would end the night fourth with Steven Bunton #1/2B claiming the fifth position. Other heat race winner was Brandon Box #4B who would develop mechanical problems taking him from contention.

Atchison County Raceway would like to thank all of our great fans for donating to the 50/50 as money was raised for the Helping Hands for the Holidays. We also hope that the kids had a great time in the scavenger hunt and look forward to seeing everyone next Friday night at Atchison County Raceway. Remember, “Don’t be Afraid of the Cage”!!!

Race Results Atchison County Raceway 7/29/2016

John Brown Construction Kids Mods:
⦁ 34S Sturgis Streeter
⦁ 58 Destyn Whitney (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 1R Cade Richards
⦁ 15E Dakota Earls
⦁ 25 Laine Grenier

Hobby Stock:
⦁ 28 Tobin Bartlett
⦁ 37 Lane Chew
⦁ 62 Lonnie Myers
⦁ 18 Wayne Brooke (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 14 Aaron Myers (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ B5 George Bruning
⦁ 19 Bill Munsen
⦁ 7SI Josiah Birkinsha
⦁ 4D Alex Boyden
⦁ 7 Isaac Robinson
⦁ 11P Dodd Proctor

⦁ 15 Corey Meyers
⦁ 19X Joshua Munsen (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 12X Matthew Lance
⦁ 1 Kyle Henning (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 63 Billy Spilman
⦁ 41 Chris Dishong
⦁ 07 Adam Schelert
⦁ 74 Justin Asher

IMCA Stock Car:
⦁ 37D Brad Derry
⦁ 27 Dominic Thyfault (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 20P Jim Powell Jr.
⦁ 10W Mike Wahwahsuck
⦁ 11W Gerald Wahwahsuck
⦁ 38 Steven Corning
⦁ 16 Paul Lanfermann II
⦁ W04 Chuck Warman
⦁ 75M Marvin Griffith Jr. (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 94J Josh Steele
⦁ X9 Brad Whitney

IMCA Modified:
⦁ 77 Steven Bowers Jr. (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 33 Nicholas Carpenter
⦁ 74 Rodney Schweizer
⦁ 71 Tony Layne
⦁ 2 Mike Eisenhut (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 81 Tom Charles
⦁ 77K Kit Bailey
⦁ 34D Travis Neeley
⦁ 66 Ethan Issacs

Sport Compact:
⦁ 08 Josh Conrad
⦁ 78 Will Guthrie (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 17 James Lemke
⦁ 7T Toby Teel (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 1/2B Steven Bunton
⦁ 28B Mike Billings
⦁ 46J James Wagner
⦁ 66B Barry Luthi
⦁ 55 David Miller III
⦁ 5DJ DJ Barnes
⦁ 7 Jason Teel
⦁ 49L Leroy Wagner
⦁ 82K Chris Lewis
⦁ 4B Brandon Box (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 1/2 CR John Willard
⦁ 91 Dan Ruhnke
⦁ 9 Christian Pease

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: