Wednesday, February 21, 2018

Phillips breaks drought at McCool Junction

Feature winner, Terry Phillips. Lloyd Collins FastTrackPhotos.Net

Feature winner, Terry Phillips. Lloyd Collins FastTrackPhotos.Net

McCool Junction, Nebraska (August 12, 2016) – Terry Phillips rolled into Junction Motor Speedway and prepared to break a couple streaks. Prior to Friday’s win he had not won with the Lucas Oil MLRA since July4, 2014, and he had not won at Junction Motor Speedway since 2008.

Phillips led the entire way from the pole. Behind him Stovall and Gustin ran each other incredibly hard, much like they have several times over the past week.

“It’s just a good car, Andy Durham builds a hell of a motor, these (crew) guys work hard,” Phillips said of the combination putting him in Andy’s Frozen Custard Victory Lane. “We’ve been on a grind here, they’ve done a good job getting these cars ready. I want to thank all them, the Friesen’s, for having us up here. It’s a beautiful facility, the track was spot on tonight, hopefully we can do the same thing tomorrow night.”

Early in the evening it looked like Kyle Berck might give Phillips fits, however during the first green flag run, Berck chunked out his right rear tire. On the restart he dropped a couple of spots immediately, and just hung on to an ill handling car the remainder of the feature.

Stovall started the main event third and raced in the top three throughout the feature. His second place finish gives him three top three finishes in four races this week.”

“It’s a good night when you can run second, there’s a lot of people behind you who wanted to run second,” commented Stovall. “Congratulations to TP there, me and him is good buddies. I’m glad he finally got him an MLRA win.”

Third through fifth Friday went to Ryan Gustin, Austin Siebert and Tad Pospisil. Saturday action starts half an hour earlier at 7:00 PM. It is another full program at Junction Motor Speedway, with $5,000 going to the winner.

Junction Motor Speedway Contingencies 8/12/16
Hooker Harness “11th Place” – JC Wyman
Andy’s Frozen Custard Victory Lane – Terry Phillips
Fasttrack Photos – Terry Phillips
Crew Chief of the Race – Tim Gott “Stickman”
Casey’s General Stores “Hard Charger of the Race” – Dave Eckrich
Sunoco “Rookie of the Race” – Tad Pospisil
Real Racing Wheels – Randy Timms
Wehrs Machine – Tad Pospisil “Pole Award”- Terry Phillips
Malvern Bank & Trust “Most Laps Led” – Terry Phillips
AR Bodies – Brantlee Gotschall
KRC – Brent Larson “Hard Luck Award” – Payton Looney
Landrum Springs “Top Performer” – Austin Siebert
Performance Bodies “Performer of the Race” – Terry Phillips A Feature (30 laps): 1. Terry Phillips 2. Jesse Stovall 3. Ryan Gustin 4. Austin Siebert 5. Tad Pospisil 6. Kyle Berck 7. Jon Mitchell 8. Tommy Weder Jr. 9. Dave Eckrich 10. Brent Larson 11. JC Wyman 12. Brad Looney 13. Brantlee Gotschall 14. Randy Timms 15. Justin Asplin 16. Tony Jackson Jr. 17. Bill Leighton Jr. 18. Jeff Roth 19. Cale Osborn 20. Randy Roth 21. Matt Buller 22. Payton Looney B Feature (12 laps): 1. Justin Asplin 2. Randy Timms 3. Dave Eckrich 4. Cale Osborn 5. Jeff Roth 6. Andrew Kosiski 7. Alex Humphrey 8. Scott Eaton 9. Cliff Morrow 10. Leas Siebert 11. Rece Vaught 12. Randy Roth 13. Mike Wiarda 14. Tyler Smith

Bilstein Shocks Heat 1 (10 laps): 1. Kyle Berck 2. Jon Mitchell 3. Ryan Gustin 4. Matt Buller 5. Payton Looney 6. Justin Asplin 7. Randy Timms 8. Dave Eckrich 9. Leas Siebert 10. Mike Wiarda

Casey’s General Stores Heat 2 (10 laps): 1. Jesse Stovall 2. Tad Pospisil 3. Tommy Weder Jr. 4. Tony Jackson Jr. 5. Jeff Roth 6. Brantlee Gotschall 7. Andrew Kosiski 8. Tyler Smith 9. Cliff Morrow 10. Randy Roth

Chix Gear Racewear Heat 3 (10 laps): 1. Terry Phillips 2. JC Wyman 3. Brad Looney 4. Bill Leighton 5. Austin Siebert 6. Brent Larson 7. Cale Osborn 8. Alex Humphrey 9. Rece Vaught 10. Scott Eaton

For all of the latest news and information fans are encouraged to visit the series website at

Fans may also “like” the Lucas Oil MLRA Facebook page by clicking or follow us on Twitter at

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: