Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Elliott, Wary and Ainsworth Score USRA Wins at I-35 Speedway!!!

I-35Kicking off the night of great racing action were the always fast and entertaining War Series Sprint Cars. Heat race winner Korey Weyant #99 would take the lead and appear to be the car to beat until late in the race when Terry Babb #8D would do the slide job after a late race caution to take the lead and win. Babb would not be denied parking his sprint car in McCarthy Auto Group Winners Circle on the front straight. Weyant would place a very close second with the always fast Chris Parkinson #65 finishing third in the feature. Fourth place would see Mitchell Moore #51 charge through the pack claiming the spot with T J Muths #65M rounding out the nights top five.
#8D Terry Babb, Non-Wing Sprint Car Feature Winner!

Pure Stock would see heat race winner and current point leader Carson Masoner #20x out front for the majority of the race with other heat race winner Jay Barnes #99j close on his heels. As the laps wound down Barnes would mount a charge on the inside and pass Masoner picking up his fourth win of the 2016 racing season at I-35 Speedway. Carson Masoner would place a close second at the line as the two would race side by side to the checkers. Tobin Bartlett #28 would again drive a consistent and smooth feature placing third. Cody King #29 and Beau Wells #555 would battle to the finish with King fourth and Wells fifth respectively. Hard Charger of the race was C J Turner #91 picking up the added cash for his efforts.

E-Modified would roar to the fast 3/8ths mile of dirt next and see a first time winner in McCarthy Auto Group Winners Circle as Jim Masoner Jr #66x would see the checkers first. Masoner would hold off all challengers on his way to the win with Jason Marrant #33 placing a very close second on the night. Manlee Lamar #4M would be the big mover of the feature, winning the B-Feature to transfer to the feature and then claiming the Hard Charger Award by placing a solid third. Fourth place would belong to John Christofferson #55 with the young up and comer Dylan Flowers #5D a very close fifth on the night. Heat race winners were Matt Dorssom #3D, Billy Spilman #63 and Derek Carney #05

Chargers would see Houston Johnson #97 win both heat race and feature on this night of competition and add to his point lead. Mich Ross #98M would finish second with John Hanson #154 third. Buz Kaster would develop mechanical issues taking him from contention.

USRA B-Modifieds would be a race to remember as one and two in points would battle one and two on the track. Heat race winner and current point leader Steve Starmer #11S would take the early lead as he and other heat race winner Doug Keller would battle for the top spot. As the laps started to fade, Randy Ainsworth #57 would emerge from the pack and pass Starmer on the inside to march on to the win. This would be Ainsworth’s second trip to McCarthy Auto Group Winners Circle this 2016 racing season at I-35 Speedway. Starmer would end the feature third with the #7 of Keller third. Fourth would see the 07 of Daniel Harris with Yancy Shepard #22y coming through the pack to place fifth.

USRA Stock Cars would have a finish like none ever witnessed at I-35 Speedway and would have the crowd on their feet. As the green would fly Dean Wray #77 would take the early lead followed closely by other heat race winner Jason Estes #997 as the two would race bumper to bumper. As the laps wound down, the white flag was shown indicating one more lap, Estes would make his move on the inside coming off turn #2 with Wray rubbing the outside wall. Estes would take the lead as they went into three with Wray diving back to the inside, as they came off turn number 4 the two made contact spinning down the front straight with Wray crossing the start finish line first and backwards picking up the feature win. Estes would place second on the night. Jeremiah Asher #37A continues to notch top finishes with a third as Calvin Teel #55T would finish fourth. Jon Boller Jr #20X would race his way to fifth.

USRA Modified would see the very best of the best in competition with current point leader Dennis Elliott #29 winning both his heat race and the feature. Elliott would be challenged by current USRA National Point Leader and other heat race winner Josh Angst #99A as the two would swap the lead in the early stages of the race. Elliott would not be denied as he would claim the lead for good and see the checkers first winning his fourth feature of the 2016 racing season at I-35 Speedway. Zach Sanders #69 would charge to the front placing a very close second with Robbie Reed #5X, in his first visit to I-35 this season, third. Angst would slip to fourth with Michael Dotson #55D rounding out the nights top five.

I-35 Speedway would like to thank everyone for another great night and see all next Saturday Night at I-35 Speedway where there is always more “Dirt Trackin at its Best”!!!!!

Race Results I-35 Speedway 8/20/2016

War Non-Wing Sprint Car:
⦁ 8D Terry Babb
⦁ 99 Korey Weyant (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 65 Chris Parkinson
⦁ 51 Mitchell Moore
⦁ 65M T J Muths
⦁ 8K Katlynn Leer
⦁ 55 Kenny Potter
⦁ 19 Bobby Weuve
⦁ 82 Vinny Ward
⦁ 77 Clinton Boyles
⦁ 21 Ryan Kitchen
⦁ 42 Warren Johnson
⦁ 12 Mitch Wissmiller (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 99L Michael Ell
⦁ 09 Andrew Genkinger

Pure Stock:
⦁ 99J Jay Barnes (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 20C Carson Masoner (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 28 Tobin Bartlett
⦁ 29 Cody King
⦁ 555 Beau Wells
⦁ 91 C J Turner
⦁ 47X Conner Masoner
⦁ 15 Kyle Russell
⦁ 03D Nathen Dawson
⦁ 22 Dylan Neudorff

⦁ 66X Jim Masoner Jr
⦁ 33 Jason Marrant
⦁ 4M Manlee Lamar
⦁ 55 John Christofferson
⦁ 5D Dylan Flowers
⦁ 3D Matt Dorssom (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 99C Chet Yates
⦁ 03K Kaelynn Peterman
⦁ 10H Garrett Hill
⦁ J90 Jorden Dawson
⦁ 63 Billy Spilman (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 15 Corey Myers
⦁ 06 Jeff Goepferich
⦁ 20X Randy Smith Jr
⦁ 19X Joshua Munsen
⦁ 05 Derek Carney (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 95S A J Sayers
⦁ 10 Justin Adkins
⦁ 28 Justin Marrant
⦁ 38A Austin Couch
⦁ 21C J R Chadwick
⦁ 53DB Danny Bennett
⦁ 27 Lee Kenney

⦁ 97 Houston Johnson (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 98M Mich Ross
⦁ 154 John Hanson
⦁ 54 Buz Kaster

USRA B-Modified:
⦁ 57 Randy Ainsworth
⦁ 11S Steve Starmer (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 7 Doug Keller (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 07 Daniel Harris
⦁ 22y Yancy Shepard
⦁ 17t Shadren Turner
⦁ 3X Tiny Manley
⦁ 20X Bud Wilson
⦁ 33S Ben Stockton
⦁ 17R Ramon Ortega
⦁ 9M Derrick Mahoney
⦁ 22B Mitch Booher
⦁ 66X Chris Wright
⦁ 17X Nic Hanes
⦁ 6X Dustin Kruse
⦁ 20T Mike Tanner

USRA Stock Car:
⦁ 77 Dean Wray (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 997 Jason Estes (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 37A Jeremiah Asher
⦁ 55T Calvin Teel
⦁ 20X Jon Boller Jr
⦁ 83A Aaron Sauter
⦁ 34 Mich Ross
⦁ 22X Alvie Christofferson
⦁ 88 Jeff Dixon
⦁ 93 Sam Scott
⦁ 17H Robert Herring

USRA Modified:
⦁ 29 Dennis Elliott (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 69 Zach Sanders
⦁ 5X Robbie Reed
⦁ 99A Josh Angst (Heat Race Winner)
⦁ 55D Michael Dotson
⦁ 71 Jim Hopkins
⦁ 31 David Coates
⦁ 15 Ed Noll
⦁ R21X Danan Knott
⦁ 92 Tyler Grooms
⦁ 98 Austin Johnson
⦁ 97 Houston Johnson
⦁ 34 Mark Schafman
⦁ R21 Ryan Schaffer
⦁ 11 Darren Shaw
⦁ 7 Shayne Bailey

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: