Wednesday, February 21, 2018

Brown And Webster Capture1st Midway Victories As Three New Winners Top Action

Despite overcast and cloudy skies,racing was back underway Sat night at
the Midway Speedway with several new winners taking the checkered flag on a
smooth racing surface.

With extra money on the line for the Factory Stocks,it was Derek Brown
making it a clean sweep as the Stoutland area driver set fast time,won his
heat and fended off several challenges from former champion Bob Gustin for
the win. Brown took the opening lead from his pole spot with Gustin close
behind and Brian Schutt running third.On lap 3,Gustin grabbed the lead
going down the back-stretch only to see Brown take back the lead the
following lap.This battle stayed close until lap 14 when 2-time champion
Tyson Troutman slowed with problems.On the restart,Gustin’s car began
pushing up the track and began to slow off the pace.Brown pulled away to
take home the $500 win as Schutt secured the runner-spot followed by Tim
Petty,Trevor Ellingson and Brandon Waters in the top 5.

Brian Webster took advantage of the redraw and his pole position as he
fended off current point leader Ted Ballinger to take his first win of the
season in the B-Modified feature.Ballinger and Webster were able to pull
away from the field leaving the race for third place up for grabs amongest
several drivers.Cody Nivens,DeWayne Hobbs,last weeks winner Michael
Stake,Jason Otto and Tony Moore were all taking their shots at the position
all race long.With Webster taking advantage late in the feature to pull
away from Ballinger,it was Nivens finally grabbing third place after a long
race battle with Stake.Stake and Hobbs completed the top 5.

Another new winner for the 2012 season was in the Pure Stock class as
point leader Rob White’s winning streak came to a halt.Jim Alexstates took
the opening lap lead only to see Jack Hamer take charge on lap 2 with
defending champion Matt Young following.Hamer and Young started to pull
away as Tyler Schoen who starte 6th was moving into the top 3.After
a spirited sdie-by side battle for the lead,Young took over the top spot on
lap 7 as Schoen ran down Hamer to move into second place on lap 8. The
feature went caution free with Young taking the victory followed by
Schoen,point leader White from 11th to third,early leader Hamer and rookie
Caleb Starnes completing the top 5.

The Midwest Modified feature saw current point leader Sam Petty get
back into his winning ways.Petty went to the front after an opening lap
restart which saw Mark Raymond,Billy Pierce and Jamie Petty all involved in
an incident and ending their night.Petty got the jump on Travis Hill and
dominated the 15 lap event.Hill closed-up late in the feature,but Petty
wasn’t to be denied.Hill would take the runner-up spot as Lebanon’s Chris
Cheever had another strong run finishing up in third while Earl Muilenburg
and Troy Young finished in the top 5.

The Street Stock feature had some excitement as Mark Simon was trying to
keep his streak alive.Defending champion Joe Francis took the opening lead
with Matt Darnell and Karla Lampe close behind.In turn 4 while Francis was
leading,Lampe made contact sending the leader around.With both drivers
going to the back of the pack,it was Darnell now in front as Simon in the
Travelin Wagon was makng some moves.On lap 3,Simon took over the lead and
pulled way to capture the win.Darnell made another strong showing with the
runner-up spot as Lapme charged back into third place with Kevin Forshey
and Brandon Henderson following.

Racing continues next Sat Night featuring Factory
Stocks,B-Modifieds,Pure Stocks,Midwest Modifieds and Street Stocks with
racing starting at 7:30.

For more information go to WWW.LebanonMidwaySpeedway.Comor
call Jack Jones at 417-594-0594

Factory Stocks-1-Derek Brown-Stoutland 2-Brian Schutt-Lebanon 3-Tim
Petty-Niangua 4-Trevor Ellingson-Lebanon 5-Brandon Waters-Lynchburg 6-Shawn
Whitman-Strafford 7-Adrell Shepherd-Camdenton 8-Bob Gustin-Osage Beach
9-Tyson Troutman-Houston 10-Frank Escamilla-Brighton
1st Ht-1-Brown 2-Schutt 3-Whitman 4-Ellingson 5-Escamilla
2nd Ht-1-Gustin 2-Waters 3-Truotman 4-Petty 5-Shepherd

B-Modifieds-1-Brian Webster-Richland 2-Ted Ballinger-Halfway 3-Cody
Nivens-Fair Grove 4-Michael Stake-Lebanon 5-DeWayne Hobbs-Bufalo 6-Tony
Moore-Lebanon 7-Jason Otto-Richland 8-Greg Strong-Nixa 9-Joe Seaman 10-Tim
Ballinger-Fair Grove 11-Caleb Chapman-Billings 12-Bill Schaar-St Robert
13-Michael Jones-Lebanon 14-Brian Myers-Lebanon
1st Ht-1-Hobbs 2-Ted Ballinger 3-Webster 4-Schaar 5-Jones 6-Chapman 7-Myers
2nd Ht-1-Nivens 2-Otto 3-Moore 4-Strong 5-Ballinger 6-Seaman 7-Stake

Pure Stocks-1-Matt Young-Lebanon 2-Tyler Schoen-Halfway 3-Rob
White-Lebanon 4-Jack Hamer-Ava 5-Caleb Starnes-Lebanon 6-Bill Allen-Urbana
7-Jim Alexstates-Brumley 8-Stacye Francis-Lebanon 9-David
Moellering-Billings 10-Brian Warner-Phillipsburg 11-Mike Walker-Urbana
1st Ht-1-Young 2-White 3-Hamer 4-Alexstates 5-Starnes 6-Allen
2nd Ht-1-Schoen 2-Warner 3-Francis 4-Walker 5-Moelling

Midwest Modifieds-1-Sam Petty-Niangua 2-Travis Hill-Lebanon 3-Chris
Cheever-Lebanon 4-Earl Muilenburg-Sparta 5-Troy Young-Lebanon 6-Les
Hayes-Camdenton 7-Billy Pierce-Camdenton 8-Mark Raymond-Fair Grove 9-Jamie
Petty-Niangua DNS-Mark Davis-Grovesprings
1st Ht-1-Raymond 2-Hill 3-Cheever 4-Hayes 5-J Petty
2nd Ht-1-S Petty 2-Pierce 3-Young 4-Muilenburg DNS-Davis

Street Stocks-1-Mark Simon-Buffalo 2-Matt Darnel-Buffalo 3-Karla Lampe-Fair
Grove 4-Kevin Forshey-Dixon 5-Brandon Henderson-Lebanon 6-Chad
Schlicht-Buffalo 7-Joe Francis-Lebanon
1st Ht-1-Francis 2-Lampe 3-Forshey
2nd Ht-1-Simon 2-Darnell 3-Henderson 4-Schlicht

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: