Sunday, February 18, 2018

NCRA Mod Chammpionship Comes Down To Saturday Night Affair

Marc Hurd #10 and Tyler Davis #65 will decide 2012 NCRA modified championship this Saturday night. Photo courtesy of Mary Gregory of

Park City, Kansas – September 30, 2012 – The fifteenth consecutive season for the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Precise Racing Products modified division will come to an end this coming Saturday night at 81 Speedway in Park City. And what should be no different than from years past, the battle for the point championship won’t be decided until after the final checkered flag falls.

2009 tour champion Marc Hurd of Wichita leads the current point standings
by just 135 points over defending champion Tyler Davis. Both drivers have
picked up one feature victory on the 2012 race season, Davis’ coming at
Humboldt Speedway in Humboldt, Kansas back in the third race of the season
while Hurd’s victory came in the tours first ever visit at Elk City Speedway in
Elk City, Oklahoma back in August.

Josh Lanterman and Dan Powers sit third and fourth respectively in the
point standings while leading rookie contender Jon Thompson sits fifth in the
point standings. While he has no feature wins to his credit, Lanterman has
shown consistent finishes throughout the ten events that have been
completed while Powers finally claimed his first career tour victory, this coming
at the most recent event held at the Belleville High Banks Speedway in
Belleville, Kansas.

Just as he does in the rookie standings, Dustin Belcher sits just behind
Thompson and in sixth place in the standings while Don Hodge, Justin Moler,
A.J. Brochu and Kirk Coleman round out the top ten.

Three previous NCRA modified events held at 81 Speedway has seen three
different feature winners. They include Jason McGehee, Johnny Bone, Jr. and
Ken Sweet.

Another interesting fact is that through the nine feature events that have
been held thus far this season, there have been no repeat feature winners.
They include McGehee, Bone, Jr., Davis, Sweet, Travis Johnson, Tanner
Mullens, Hurd, Gene Weaver and Powers.

Gates for the season finale for the tour will open at 5:00 pm with racing
slated for a 7:00 pm start time. The series 360 sprint car division will
also be competing in what promises to be one action packed night at the

For more information on this event or on the NCRA, contact (316)

Current 2012 NCRA Modified Point Standings:
1) Marc Hurd 2650, 2) Tyler Davis 2515, 3) Josh Lanterman 2385, 4) Dan
Powers 2350, 5) Jon Thompson 2310, 6) Dustin Belcher 2215, 7) Don Hodge 2205,
8) Justin Moler 2025, 9) A.J. Brochu 1920, 10) Kirk Coleman 1905

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: