Wednesday, February 21, 2018

NCRA Sprints Kick Off With $5K To Win At 81 Speedway

Park City, Kansas – March 26, 2013 – The huge sprint car event that was announced back in late January and that has been updated several times since then is now finally upon us as the 24th
consecutive year for the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Precise Racing Products 360 sprinters will kick off their 2013 race season this coming Saturday night at 81 Speedway in Park City. And as you may or may not know, it is not just another season opener as the track will presented the 3rd annual “Air Capital Shootout” which will pay
that nights feature winner $5000 to w in. Just starting the twenty car championship finale will pay $400.

An open practice session for all sprint car drivers competing will be held on Friday night and is limited to sprint cars only.

Back to defend his championship will be three-time defending series champion (45x) C.J. Johnson of Quinter, Kansas. C.J. has won the past two seasons and his primed and ready to become a three-peat champion. 2010 division champion Jeremy Campbell of Wichita looks to get started on the right foot for the 2013 race season and is poised to become a threat to Johnson’s championship. Last year started with several bad finishes but the sprint car veteran rebounded to finish in the runner up position in the final point standings. Campbell will be back in his familiar #10c. The #20 of Luke Cranston of Plains had his best season yet with the series as he came home third in the final point standings and is also expected back to compete for the championship. When you talk NCRA sprints one of the first names that come to mind is veteran Mike Peters of Wichita. “MP” Was up in contention for most of the season but motor gremlins late in the year had taken him out of the running for the championship.

2013 tour rookie of the year Zach Blurton (2J) plans on making all but two of the scheduled events in 2013 as the second generation driver will do the bulk of his racing in Knoxville, Iowa this year. Zach finished a strong fifth last season in the points. Former Hutchinson Grand Nationals sprint car champion Jon Freeman of Salina will also be back in his familiar #81 with hopes the motor gremlins that plagued him last year have been left on the trailer. Jeff Stasa of Kingman (#91), Marc Robe of Wichita (#21) and (21x) Taylor Velasquez of Turpin, Oklahoma rounded out the top ten in the point standings last season and are also expected back on the tour.

S&S Trailer Sales of Ness City, Kansas has climbed aboard as a partner on the sprint car tour for this year and will sponsor the pole position for each nights feature finale.

With $5000 on the line, a wide variety of drivers from across the Midwest are expected to invade the home dirt of the series at 81 Speedway including Eunice, Louisiana’s Jason Johnson. Johnson won the season opener last season and that night’s $4000 first place prize.

Drivers who have indicated via phone or social networks of their intentions of competing include the following, categorized by states: Oklahoma: Danny Jennings, Michelle Decker, Mike Goodman, Matt Ward, Blake Hahn, Brandon Hahn, Ty Williams Nebraska: Don Droud, Jr., Ryan Roberts, Jack Dover, Trevor Grossenbacher, Tyler Drueke, Billy Alley, Austin Gullian, Ryan Kitchen, Cody Ledger
New Mexico: Josh Hodges

The above are just a sampling of drivers who have indicated their attentions of competing and over forty drivers are expected with the states of Iowa, Missouri and Colorado represented.

Friday nights open practice for the winged warriors will be from 7:00 PM until 10:00 PM and pit passes will be $10. Grandstand admission for practice is free.

Over $20,000 in prize money will be up for grabs with all drivers making the feature finale taking home $400. This purse will be one of the largest in the tours history and drivers from across the region are expected to compete.

Below is the championship feature finale payout for Saturday night’s
1) $ 5000, 2) $ 3000 3) $2000 4) $1500 5) $1000 6) $700 7) $600 8) $ 500
9) $500 10) $500 11) $400 12) $400 13) $400 14) $400 15) $400 16) $400 17)
$400 18) $ 400 19) $400 20) $ 400

Below is the recommended lodging information:
Days Inn – (316) 832-1131 – $51 (tax included)
Comfort Inn – (316) 744-7711 – $68 (tax included)
Sleep Inn – (316) 440-5050 – $68 (tax included)
Super 8 – (316) 744-2071 – $68 (tax included)
Best Western (316) 832-9387 – $80 (tax included and breakfast for two)

Earn Free Pit Pass and Entry: This special promotion starts “now” so if
any sprint car drivers come to 81 Speedway this weekend practice, the
following weekend or even Friday nights sprints only practice session, you can
bring your receipt and it will be kept until the draw for the Saturday night,

March 30th season opener for the 360 sprinters. Then a receipt will be
drawn and the lucky recipient will be awarded the two free pit passes and free
car entry at time of draw.

Race day Saturday will see pit gates open at 5:00 PM with racing slated
for a 7:00 PM green flag time. General admission is $15 for adults and
children just $5. Pit passes will be $30. Only sprint cars will be competing on
this night.

81 Speedway is located north of Wichita on I-135 to exit 16, then .7 mile
west on 77th St. in Park City. If you have any questions concerning this
promotion, please contact the 81 Speedway office (316) 755-1781. You can also
access the official NCRA website _www.racencra.com_
( for the 2013 race schedule for not only the 360 sprints
but 305 sprints, late models, modifieds, southern sport mods and new mod-lite division as

Since 1971 the NCRA has sanctioned dirt track races across the Great
Plains with the series currently sanctioning five other divisions. They include
modifieds, southern sport modifieds, late models, 360 sprint cars, 305
sprint cars and new mod lites. The 2013 season for the National Championship
Racing Association is the 43rd anniversary season with races scheduled at
sixteen different race tracks across Kansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Texas and

The National Championship Racing Association would like to thank the
following for their involvement with the series sprint car division for the 2013
race season:

Park City, Kansas, Precise Racing Products, Hoosier Racing Tires, Sunoco
Race Fuels, S&S Trailer Sales, Inc.

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: