Monday, February 19, 2018

Sunflower Classic Underway At RPM Speedway

HAYS, KS (April 5)—Over 150 race teams representing 6 states converged on RPM Speedway in Hays, KS, on Friday evening, April 5, for the first night of the Sunflower Classic.

In the IMCA Modified main event, Corey Lagroon jumped out to an early lead, chased by Barry Maupin, Nate Moore, David Murray and Joe Cleveland. The first of 3 cautions waved on lap 11 when Marty Clark spun, and Lagroon led the field back to green. But Lagroon bobbled in the corner and Moore moved to the top spot. Jeremy Frenier of Fort Morgan, CO, who had to run a B-feature to make the main event, charged through the field from his 18th starting spot and took command on lap 13. Jesse Sobbing of Glenwood, IA, last year’s national champion in the Northern Sport Mod division,
made his way to second on lap 18 when the second caution waved, but his run ended on lap 23 when he developed a flat tire under the final caution. ‘Smokin’ Joe made a late charge on Frenier but had to settle for second as Frenier took the checkers and the $1,000 winner’s check. Moore finished third, followed by ‘The Terminator’ Travis Sherfick and Cody Gearhart.

Jeff Joldersma of McClelland, IA, took advantage of his pole starting position in the 25-lap Dirt Track Central Great Plains Series IMCA Stock Car feature to take an early lead, only to be passed by fellow Iowan Justin Temeyer on lap 11. But Temeyer slowed under caution on lap 17 and would not return, giving the top spot back to Joldersma on the restart, trailed by ‘Spiderman’ Nick Tubbs, Lance Borgman, ‘Leadfoot’ Luke Pfannenstiel, and Jesse Taylor. But when the green flag appeared, Borgman, of Beatrice, NE, shot past the top 2 and took a lead he would not relinquish and scored a
$750 payday. Joldersma held on for second over a close Jason Rogers, Tubbs and Taylor.

Blaine Walt jumped out front of a 24-car field in the IMCA Northern Sport Mod A-main, followed by Trenton Kleweno and Jake Krone. After a caution on lap 5 for a multi-car crash, Collyer led the field back to green, only to be passed by defending track champion Krone. Krone continued to lead the field at the halfway mark of the 20-lap race. Then a caution on lap 15 bunched up the field, and ‘The Frye Man’ Tyler Frye of Belleville took the lead on the restart as Krone broke. Frye held on to win, followed closely by the birthday boy Cory Struckhoff, Kurtis Pihl, Matthew Crowell and Mike Appel.

Local drivers held the top spot during the 15-lap IMCA Hobby Stock A-feature. ‘The Wild Child’ Garrett Hager led the opening lap, followed by Jeromy Wagner, Trevor Schmidt and Daniel Irwin. Then on lap 6, Cody ‘Bam Bam’ Graham edged out Hager by a nose at the wire and held off a good field to score the win on his hometown track. Kurt Hansen, Hager, Wagner, and Jason Fusselman rounded out the top five. Daniel Dembowski of Grand Island, NE, took the lead on lap 2 of the 12-lap IMCA Sport Compact feature from Brandon Lobdell and held on to claim the checkers. Dean Herzog finished in the runner-up spot, followed by Lobdell, Shyla Hughes and Vincent Jasper.

IMCA Modifieds

B-Feature #1 (top 4 advance): 1. Troy Plummer, 2. Charles Stryker, 3. John Fabrizius,
4. Tim Watts, 5. John Burrow Jr., 6. Grant Florence, 7. Charley Brown, 8. Chadd Brown,
9. John Fose, 10. Taos Leighton, 11. Kyle Rohleder (DNF), 12. Danny Concelman
B-Feature #2 (top 4 advance): 1. Jeremy Frenier, 2. Eddie Belec, 3. Marty Clark, 4.
Jason Schoenberger, 5. Greg Gustus, 6. Corey Burch, 7. Tyler Wilson, 8. Scott Brown, 9.
Matt Henke, 10. Rob Day (DNF), 11. Todd Schwarz (DNF), 12. Kale Beavers (DNS).
A-Feature: 1. Jeremy Frenier, 2. Joe Cleveland, 3. Nate Moore, 4. Travis Sherfick, 5.
Cody Gearhart, 6. Corey Lagroon, 7. Dylan Sherfick, 8. Chris Bragg, 9. Barry Maupin,
10. Mike Petersilie, 11. Jason Nelssen, 12. Jesse Sobbing, 13. Rodger Peck, 14. Brian
Calhoon, 15. Charles Stryker, 16. John Fabrizius, 17. Tim Watts, 18. Jeremy Zorn (DNF),
19. Jason Schoenberger (DNF), 20. Bill Albin (DNF), 21. Troy Plummer (DNF), 22.
David Murray (DNF), 23. Marty Clark (DNF), 24. Eddie Belec (DNF).

IMCA Stock Cars
B-Feature #1 (top 4 advance): 1. Jerry Phillips, 2. Josh Crombie, 3. Billy Murphy, 4.
Bruce Plumisto, 5. Geoff Jermark, 6. Cody Williams, 7. Eric Kinderknecht, 8. Cody
Zimmerman, 9. Kyle Clough, 10. Ozzie Romero (DNF), 11. Cole Miller (DNF).
B-Feature #2 (top 4 advance): 1. Jeff Tubbs, 2. Tyler Tipton, 3. Michael Pepper, 4. Pat
Bedore, 5. Tony Steenson, 6. Jed Williams, 7. Bob Rutherford, 8. Keith Riley, 9. Tyrel
Smith (DNF), 10. Michael Meyer (DNF).
A-Feature: 1. Lance Borgman, 2. Jeff Joldersma, 3. Jason Rogers, 4. Nick Tubbs, 5.
Jesse Taylor, 6. Luke Pfannenstiel, 7. Casey Woken, 8. Jeff Tubbs, 9. Jerry Phillips, 10.
Casey Werkmeister, 11. Scot Granzella, 12. Terry Cunningham, 13. Josh Crombie, 14.
Tyler Tipton, 15. Pat Bedore, 16. Jason Davis, 17. Dan Walker, 18. Billy Phelps (DNF),
19. Perry Misner (DNF), 20. Justin Temeyer (DNF), 21. Bruce Plumisto (DNF), 22.
Austin Carter (DNF), 23. Michael Pepper (DNF), 24. Barrett Wagoner (DNF).

IMCA Northern Sport Mods
B-Feature #1 (top 4 advance): 1. Chris Heim, 2. Kaid Calhoon, 3. Kurtis Pihl, 4.
Brendon Damon, 5. C.J. Pfannenstiel (DNF), 6. Cory Monsell (DNS), 7. Jason Brees
(DNS), 8. J.R. Ewing (DNS), 9. Jerrod Couse (DNS).
B-Feature #2 (top 4 advance): 1. Cory Struckhoff, 2. Clay Sellard, 3. Clay Money, 4.
Josh Appel, 5. Ryan Moser, 6. Mark Axelson, 7. Terry Blessing, 8. Jeremy Couse, 9.
Phillip Goering, 10. Ryan Stevenson (DNF).
A-Feature: 1. Tyler Frye, 2. Cory Struckhoff, 3. Kurtis Pihl, 4. Matthew Crowell, 5.
Mike Appel, 6. Joe Couse, 7. Josh Appel, 8. Clay Money, 9. Jesse Levin, 10. Colby
Hagans, 11. Blaine Walt (DNF), 12. Clay Sellard (DNF), 13. Jake Krone (DNF), 14.
Austin Carter (DNF), 15. Austin Walker (DNF), 16. Brian Fink (DNF), 17. Trenton
Kleweno (DNF), 18. Chris Heim (DNF), 19. Shelby Stapel (DNF), 20. Andy Barton
(DNF), 21. Jeremy Sigler (DNF), 22. Brendon Damon (DNF), 23. Kaid Calhoon (DNF),
24. Brian Williams (DNF).

IMCA Hobby Stocks
B-Feature (top 5 advance): 1. G.W. Fuller, 2. Aaron Gray, 3. Cody Ghumm, 4. Collin
Heim, 5. Tommy Fose, 6. Jeff Gallen, 7. Colton Pfeifer, 8. W.D. Matteson, 9. Donnie
Werth, 10. Wayne Robben, 11. Lucas Louder (DNS).
A-Feature: 1. Cody Graham, 2. Kurt Hansen, 3. Garrett Hager, 4. Jeromy Wagner,
5. Jason Fusselman, 6. Ron Wehling, 7. Dillon Thompson, 8. Daniel Irwin, 9. Austin
Tammen, 10. Russ Specht, 11. Brian Stich, 12. Leon Pfannenstiel, 13. Tommy Fose, 14.
Aaron Gray, 15. Eric Ross, 16. Jason McIntyre, 17. Cody Ghumm (DNF), 18. Trevor
Schmidt (DNF), 19. Collin Heim (DNF), 20. G.W. Fuller (DNF).

IMCA Sport Compacts
A-Feature: 1. Daniel Dembowski, 2. Dean Herzog, 3. Brandon Lobdell, 4. Shyla
Hughes, 5. Vincent Jasper, 6. Michael Smith, 7. Art Herzog, 8. Kirk Pfannenstiel, 9. Ed
Jasper, 10. Madison Reed, 11. Andrew Soderlund, 12. Justin Rohr, 13. Tanner Chapin,
14. Kiowa Higdon (DNF), 15. Tristen Barton (DNF), 16. Wade Heller (DNF), 17. Zach
Olmstead (DNF).

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: