Thursday, February 22, 2018

Travis Smith Shoots To Win At Humboldt Speedway

Travis Smith was as fast as a rocket ship on Friday night at Humboldt. Dayton Sutterby, Finish Line Photography

Travis Smith was as fast as a rocket ship on Friday night at Humboldt. Dayton Sutterby, Finish Line Photography

For several years, Parsons, KS driver Travis Smith has gone head to head with some of the finest modified drivers in the nation at Humboldt Speedway. Fast, consistent, no one seemed to realize that Smith had yet to win a feature at “The Hummer”.

That changed after Friday nights USRA/McCarthy Auto Group A-Mod feature. Travis was “on rails” as they say, going to the high side of the track and powering his way to the lead, which he held for the majority of the event. Ryan McAninch applied pressure to the leader, finishing in the runner up spot. Josh Everheart was third, Whitey Folk fourth, and Scott Daniels fifth.

The Ray’s Metal Depot B-Mod feature was a real thriller; multiple lead changes
with only one yellow flag. At the checkers, Jeremy Chambers was the winner,
followed closely by runner up Jimmie Davis, who executed a blistering last lap
maneuver to rise from deep in the field. Third went to Riley Whitworth, Tim
VanGotten finished fourth, Tyler Kidwell was fifth.

Jeremy Wilson took his second Factory Stock win in as many weeks, fighting off a
determined Rick Aielo for the win. Jay Lamons, Jr. made some spectacular moves
coming thru the pack for third. Tyler James finished fourth, Jason Wayne rounded out
the top five.

Derrick Wilson continues his winning ways in the Whitworth Construction Pure
Stock division, adding another trophy to his impressive 2013 collection. Runner up
was Donnie Devers, Jeremy Bennett was third. Fourth went to Donald McIntosh, Ken
Colston was fifth.

Round two of the Whitworth Memorial Weekend kicks in Sunday. Extra money up for
grabs in all classes, special events, and a band performs after the races. Gates
open at five, racing at 7pm.

Sunday Night Humboldt Speedway will hold the Whitworth Memorial with the races getting underway at 7 p.m.

Humboldt Speedway
Race Results
Friday, May 24, 2013

Ray’s Metal Depot B-Mod
A FEATURE 1, Jeremy Chambers. 2, Jimmie Davis. 3, Riley Whitworth. 4, Tim VanGotten. 5, Tyler Kidwell. 6, Blake Davis. 7, Mike Letterman. 8, Jason Thurman. 9, Jon Westhoff. 10, Blake Kisner. 11, Matthew Lang. 12, Brandon Jones. 13, Curt Drake.
HEAT 1 1, Blake Davis. 2, Riley Whitworth. 3, Mike Letterman. 4, Jeremy Chambers. 5, Jason Thurman. 6, Blake Kisner.
HEAT 2 1, Tim VanGotten. 2, Tyler Kidwell. 3, Jon Westhoff. 4, Jimmie Davis. 5, Curt Drake. 6, Matthew Lang. 7, Brandon Jones.

A FEATURE 1, Jeremy Wilson. 2, Rick Aiello. 3, Jay Lamons Jr. 4, Tyler James. 5, Jason Wayne. 6, Daryl Drake. 7, Patrick Kay. 8, David Matlock. 9, John Rosson. 10, Dino Williams
HEAT 1 1, Jeremy Wilson. 2, Tyler James. 3, Patrick Kay. 4, Jason Wayne. 5, David Matlock. 6, John Rosson.
HEAT 2 1, Rick Aiello. 2, Daryl Drake. 3, Dino Williams. 4, Jay Lamons Jr. 5, Tyler Vincent.

McCarthy Auto Group USRA Modified
A FEATURE 1, Travis Smith. 2, Ryan McAninch. 3, Josh Everhart. 4, Justin Folk. 5, Scott Daniels. 6, Cody Schniepp. 7, Justin Johnson. 8, Jesse Folk Jr. 9, Chase Sigg. 10, Van Gemmill. 11, Gene Hogan. 12, Jared Rogers. 13, Bryce Schniepp. 14, Ryan Phillips. 15, Dennis Bishop. 16, Mykel Atkinson. 17, Andy Morris.
HEAT 1 1, Travis Smith. 2, Jesse Folk Jr. 3, Justin Johnson. 4, Bryce Schniepp. 5, Ryan Phillips. 6, Mykel Atkinson. 7, Jay Purkey.
HEAT 2 1, Scott Daniels. 2, Ryan McAninch. 3, Gene Hogan. 4, Andy Morris.
HEAT 3 1, Justin Folk. 2, Josh Everhart. 3, Cody Schniepp. 4, Chase Sigg. 5, Dennis Bishop. 6, Dan Morris. 7, Van Gemmill.

Whitworth Construction Pure Stock
A FEATURE 1, Derrek Wilson. 2, Donnie Devers. 3, Jeremy Bennett. 4, Eldon Donald McIntosh. 5, Ken Colston. 6, Wayne Johnson. 7, Ryan Smith. 8, Matthew Kay. 9, Mike Churning. 10, Robert Shaughnessy.
HEAT 1 1, Derrek Wilson. 2, Matthew Kay. 3, Ryan Smith. 4, Mike Churning. 5, Ken Colston.
HEAT 2 1, Jeremy Bennett. 2, Donnie Devers. 3, Robert Shaughnessy. 4, Wayne Johnson. 5, Eldon Donald McIntosh.

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: