Saturday, February 17, 2018

Nine events in ten days starts Thursday for tireless USMTS touring titans

usmts_logoWICHITA, Kan. (June 17) – The most grueling part of the schedule is just getting started for the stars and cars of the United States Modified Touring Series with nine events in ten days beginning this Thursday.


On Thursday, June 20, fans can expect to see the hottest open-wheel dirt Modified drivers in the nation circling the 81 Speedway for the first time since 2008. Fans can expect to see defending event winner Jason Hughes and current USMTS Arbor Masters Central Region points leader Jeremy Payne among many others.

Gates will open at 5:30 with racing at 7:30. Tickets are just $15 for spectators ages 11 and up, $5 for kids ages 6-10 and free for children under 6 years of age. Pit passes are $30. The USMTS Modifieds will be the only class on the program.

The 81 Speedway is located north of Wichita on I-135 to exit 16, then 0.7 mile west on 77th St., and features Musco Sports Lighting and free camping (no hook-ups). For race day information, call the track hotline at (316) 755-1781 or visit online.


A first-time stop for the USMTS Casey’s Cup Series happens Friday, June 21, at Glen Thompson’s Liberal Fairgrounds Speedway in Liberal, Kan.

Stock Cars will also join the program with gates opening at 5:30 and racing at 7:00.

The Liberal Fairgrounds Speedway is a 3/8-mile slightly-banked clay oval located at the west edge of Liberal to 8th St., then north on Stadium Ave. For more information call 316-624-3743.

From there, teams trek to the south to finish up the season’s events in Allgayer, Inc. Southern Region presented by Day Motor Sports and kick off the 4s Motorsports Southern Speedweek powered by Lecolift.


On Saturday, June 22, the USMTS Modifieds make their only appearance of 2013 in Amarillo, Texas, at the Route 66 Motor Speedway where current regional points leader Rodney Sanders cut his teeth in racing.

To the crowd’s delight, Sanders emerged as the winner of the inaugural USMTS event here in 2010 while Kelly Shryock held off Ryan Gustin to win in 2011. Two events here held at the state-of-the-art facility in 2012 with Jason Hughes and Randy Timms getting to the winners circle.

The racing surface at Bill Worthen’s 18-year-old speedplant is a generous 75 feet wide in the turns with 20 degrees of banking and 65 feet wide down the straight-aways with 5 degrees of banking. The facility has a seating for 4,000 race fans, and the race teams will enjoy concrete pads available with lighting and water.

Gates open at 6:00 and races start at 7:00. Tickets are $15 and kids under 6 are free. Support classes include Sport Mods, Street Stocks and Cyclones for the 4th Annual Amarillo Ambush presented by Bud Light.

The Route 66 Motor Speedway is a 3/8-mile high-banked clay oval located 1.5 miles south of I-40 at Exit 75 on Lakeside Dr. in Amarillo, Texas. For more information, call the track office at 806-383-0375 or 806-335-3478 for race day updates. The track’s website is


On Sunday, June 23, it’s the first-ever appearance for the USMTS Modifieds at the Elk City Speedway in Elk City, Okla.

Non-touring regulars also expected to do battle include Gene Weaver, Dee and Jeremy Gossett, Calvin and Austin Bonner, Mickey Lassiter, Dusty and Bobby Mayfield and Harley Menacher, just to name a few.

General admission prices for this show will be $15 for adults. Kids ages 12-15 are $7, ages 6-11 are $2 and children 5 and under are free. Seniors will be admitted into the grandstands for just $7. All pit passes are $30.

Pit gates open at 4:00 while grandstand gates will open at 5:00. Hot laps start at 6:00 with racing slated for a 6:30 start time.

The Elk City Speedway is a 3/8-mile semi-banked clay oval located off of I-40 at Merrit Rd. (exit 34), then 0.5 mile north, then 0.5 mile west. For race and ticket information call 580-799-7572.


The one and only day of rest during the ten-day stretch takes place on Monday before the first ever visit to the Devil’s Bowl Speedway in Mesquite, Texas, on Tuesday, June 25. On Wednesday, June 26, it’s on to the Heart O’ Texas Speedway near Waco, then back to the north for three nights to finish up on Thursday-Saturday, June 27-29, with repeat visits to the Kennedale (Texas) Speedway Park; RPM Speedway in Crandall, Texas; and Southern Oklahoma Speedway in Ardmore, Okla.

Some of the USMTS drivers expected for these event include twin brothers Stormy Scott and Johnny Scott, two-time defending USMTS national champion Ryan Gustin, nine-time USMTS national champion Kelly Shryock, Zack VanderBeek, Rodney Sanders, Dereck Ramirez, 14-year-old rookie sensation Trevor Hunt, Canadian teammates Joey Galloway and Masen Big Eagle, Chris Brown, Clyde Dunn Jr., Steve Whiteaker Jr., Philip Houston, Casey Penn, Tracy Denby Jr., Shane Sprinkle, Jeff Allgayer, Shane Hebert, Thomas Tillison Jr., Joe Duvall, Rick Beebe and more.

All events pay $2,000 to win or $4,000 to win for drivers participating in the Big Dog Buy-In, making for a possible take-home pay of more than $70,000 for one driver.

To learn more about the United States Modified Touring Series, visit online or call 515-832-7944. You can also like us on Facebook at, follow us on Twitter at or check out our YouTube channel at

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USMTS OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing Tires, Casey’s General Stores, Cheetos, COMP Cams®, Day Motor Sports, Intercomp, KEVKO Oil Pans & Components, New Vision Graphics, Nitroquest, RACEceiver,, Snickers, Swan Energy.

USMTS PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: 4s Motorsports, Allgayer Inc., Arbor Masters, ASi Racewear, BRODIX Cylinder Heads, Erson Cams, Farm Boy BBQ Sauce, FVP, Integra Racing Shocks & Springs, Intensitee Custom Racewear, Lecolift, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Olympic Fire Protection, Ramirez Motorsports, Road Runner Trucking, Ruter Farms, Something Inked, United Cellular Services.

USMTS CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AERO Race Wheels, AFCO Racing Products, Bell Racing Helmets, Beyea Custom Headers, BSB Manufacturing, Champ Pans, CPD Racing Tools, Crane Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Eibach Springs, Fast Shafts, FK Rod Ends, Forty9 Designs, Fuel Safe, Genesis Racing Shocks, GRT Race Cars, Hooker Harness, JRi Shocks, Keyser Manufacturing, KSE Racing Products, Marsh Racing Wheels, MSD Ignition, PBM Performance Products, Power Lift Racing Products, Quarter Master, Real Racing Wheels, Sybesma Graphics, Tiger Rear Ends, VP Racing Fuels.

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: