Friday, January 19, 2018

Wray Does It Again At I-35 Speedway

Cory Wray continues to win at I-35 Speedway. PictureMeRacing.Com

Cory Wray continues to win at I-35 Speedway. PictureMeRacing.Com

For the first time in years a Grand National driver picked up the Border Wars challenge by winning Lakeside Speedway in Kansas on Friday night and I-35 Speedways feature on Saturday night. Don Marrs #9 accomplished just that by winning both the heat race and the feature for the two race track weekend sweep. Marrs jumped out to an early lead in the feature and never looked back on his way to earning the night’s victory. Fishing behind Marrs was Bud Wilson #75 second, Austin Johnson #98 third, and Houston Johnson #97 rounding out the top four.

Back for another run at I-35 Speedway was the Midwest Lightning Sprints. Picking up his first win of the 2013 racing season on the 3/8 mile of dirt was Mark Billings #60e. Billings was challenged late by current MLS point leader Tom Brown #b20, who would go on to finish second in the feature after winning the heat race earlier. The always consistent #71 of Tony Layne drove a smooth race to place third. The battle of the Baxter’s witnessed son Luke Baxter #10b outlast father Rick Baxter #12b to finish fourth, moving the father Rick to fifth.

Excitement and action are always on display in the IMCA Stock Car division as “Big” Jeff Dixon #88 drove a flawless race on his way to victory lane. Dixon was challenged every lap by veteran racer Thomas Roberts #65x, who would try both high line and low line, yet was unable to pass Dixon settling for second place. Point Leader Dean Wray #77 would work traffic from a fifth row starting position to come home with another solid third place finish. Brad Whitney and Shawn Lee would battle side by side for fourth and fifth for nearly every lap, as the #x9 of Whitney would gain the edge to place fourth over the #4d of Lee, who would place fifth. Heat race winners included Dean Wray #77 and Greg Keuhn #6x.

A familiar face found McCarthy Auto Group Winner Circle as Nick “The Kid” Roberts #23jr would work the high side to perfection just squeezing by the always fast “Man of Steele”. Josh Steele #94j would pick up a heat race win, lead early in the feature, and place a solid second to Roberts. Point leader Randy Ainsworth #57 would finish a consistent third holding off the hard charge of heat race winner Tony Manley #3x who would end the race in fourth. Living up to his nickname “Mr. Highside” Jeremy Pittsenbarger would use the top groove of the track to bring the #32p home fifth. Heat race winners also included ‘Wild Child” Nic Hanes #9h.

IMCA Hobby Stock National Rookie of the Year point leader Kenny Champ #3 continued his hot streak in 2013, winning both heat race and feature. Mich Ross #34 would challenge Champ late only to fall short and finish second. Rookie driver Trinedy Barker #22b continues to impress by leading early yet would slip to a solid third place finish. Billie Hoover #21h would finish fourth holding off veteran driver David Truskett #83, who placed fifth.

Cory Wray #69n continues to be the car to beat in the IMCA Modified class at I-35 Speedway winning both heat race and feature. Challenging Wray throughout the event was second place finisher Darren Shaw #11. Heat race winner and point leader Steven Glenn #26s would recover from an early race mishap to place third. Newcomer to the track this 2013 season witnessed Shane Lawson #17$ have an impressive debut finishing fourth as John Hanson #2h would round out the top five.

I-35 Speedway fans were treated to Intermission entertainment as 19 of our great drivers competed in our first ever ‘Three-legged Race” on the front stretch. The Intermission race saw equipment failures, moving finish line, and great athletes giving their all. Winners of the race were Sport-Mod drivers Tony Manley #3x and Mike Nelson #95. Drivers then made their way to grandstands signing autographs and visiting with our great fans. We would like to thank the following drivers and crew member for their participation; Steven Glenn and Randy Smith, Tony Manley and Mike Nelson, Wes Bestgen and Jason Billups, Randy Ainsworth and Nick Roberts, Billie Hoover and Mich Ross, John Hanson and his crew chief Oldon, Brady Sensenich and Jeff Marriott, Josh Steele and Mitch Booher, and the trio of Austin Johnson, Houston Johnson and Bryce Whitney.

We welcome our entire loyal race fans back next week as we will feature “Kids Bike Races” during Intermission activities. Reminding parents and grand-parents alike that all children under the age of eight need to sign up at the front gate, as we will be giving away a girls bicycle and a boys bicycle. The drawing for the bicycles will follow the bike races during Intermission. So shine up, spice up, and get those racing juices flowing as we will have three bike classes competing based on age groups. Saturday Night’s racing will be regular admission prices as the concert has been postponed. We look forward to seeing each and every one at I-35 Speedway next Saturday Night for more “Dirt Track Racin’ at its Best”.
Race Results for I-35 Speedway 08/10/2013

Grand Nationals
1. Don Marrs #9 (Heat Race Winner)
2. Bud Wilson #75
3. Austin Johnson #98
4. Houston Johnson #97

Midwest Lightning Sprints
1. Mark Billings #60e
2. Tom Brown #b20 (Heat Race Winner)
3. Tony Layne #71
4. Luke Baxter #10b
5. Rick Baxter #12b
6. Luke McGee #13
7. Greg Black #53
8. Austin Bouzek #14
9. Brendon Martin #21

IMCA Stock Cars
1. Jeff Dixon #88
2. Thomas Roberts #65x
3. Dean Wray #77 (Heat Race Winner)
4. Brad Whitney #x9
5. Shawn Lee #4d
6. Gene Stigall #20
7. Greg Keuhn #6x (Heat Race Winner)
8. Jake Cameron #86c
9. Kevin Anderson #417
10. Richard Moulton #18
11. Aaron Sauter #21a

IMCA Sport Mods
1. Nick Roberts #23jr
2. Josh Steele #94j (Heat Race Winner)
3. Randy Ainsworth #57
4. Tony Manley #3x (Heat Race Winner)
5. Jeremy Pittsenbarger #32p
6. Brandon Bouzek #75
7. Wes Bestgen #15b
8. Jason Billups #33j
9. Josh Barnes #52j
10. Mitch Booher #22b
11. Adam Reeter #74r
12. Mike Nelson #95
13. Nic Hanes #9h (Heat Race Winner)
14. Casey Schroff #14s
15. Clint Baker #17x
16. Caleb Dennis #11
17. Brady Sensenich #60
18. Gregg Truelove #44

IMCA Hobby Stocks
1. Kenny Champ #3 (Heat Race Winner)
2. Mich Ross #34
3. Trinedy Barker #22b
4. Billie Hoover #21h
5. David Truskett #83
6. Cody Doolittle #5
7. Bryce Whitney #x9

IMCA Modifieds
1. Cory Wray #69n (Heat Race Winner)
2. Darren Shaw #11
3. Steven Glenn #26s (Heat Race Winner)
4. Shane Lawson #17$
5. John Hanson #2h
6. Jeff Marriott #56
7. Dave Petty Jr. #97
8. Buz Kaster #54
9. Randy Smith #26
10. Doyle Moore #44m

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: