Sunday, February 18, 2018

Grabo Still On A Roll From Last Season

Jordan Grabouski added another Spring Nationals victory to his resume, on the second night of the season-opening special at Beatrice Speedway.

Grabouski’s drive to the national IMCA Modified championship started with a sweep at the 2011 event. He’d run third on opening night but led every lap to win Saturday’s Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot qualifier and earn $1,500.

A caution with three laps left produced some late race drama as David Murray Jr. made his move to the inside on the restart, caught an infield tire and then into the wall, where he got tangled with Jeremy Frenier.

Friday winner Jay Noteboom, Dylan Smith, Brian Mullen and David Karst completed the top five.

The IMCA car count for Saturday night shot to 234 for another standing room only crowd. Damon Murty was the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car winner, Mike Pruitt was first in the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod main, Shaun Slezak ruled the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks and Aaron Betz was best in the Mach-1 Sport Compact feature.

Murty notched IMCA career win number 115 with a flag-to-flag run of his own. His $400 checkers came in front of Andrew Altenburg, Tyler Phelps, Casey Werkmeister and Jesse Taylor.

Another $400 prize went to Pruitt, who had a comfortable advantage over Jesse Sobbing at the finish. Jeremy Leiting, Kyle Prauner and Racer Hulin rounded out the top five. Friday winner Tyler Frye was challenging toward the front but got caught up in a multi-car mixup with three to go.

After enjoying a long run at the front, Slezak was side-by-side with Friday winner Adam Armstrong going into the final turn to take the white flag. Contact with another car, however, took Armstrong out of contention. Mike Hansen, Brendon Stigge, Blain Petersen and Armstrong were scored second through fifth, respectively, in the $300 to win feature.

Picking up right where he left off following a 21-win campaign last season, Betz beat Tyler Whalen, Ole Olsen, Brock McDougall and Scott Spellmeier to the $200 Sport Compact checkers.

Saturday entries at Beatrice included 64 Modifieds, 59 Northern SportMods, 44 Stock Cars, 38 Sport Compacts and 29 Hobby Stocks.


Modifieds – 1. Jordan Grabouski, Beatrice; 2. Jay Noteboom, Hinton, Iowa; 3. Dylan Smith, Osceola; 4. Brian Mullen, Seymour, Wis.; 5. David Karst, Mills, Wyo.; 6. Brian Foote, Essex, Iowa; 7. Lyle Shepard, Manhattan, Kan.; 8. Jon Snyder, Ames, Iowa; 9. Troy Cordes, Dunkerton, Iowa; 10. Cole LaMontagne, Bismarck, N.D.; 11. David Murray Jr., Oberlin, Kan.; 12. Jeremy Frenier, Fort Morgan, Colo.; 13. Chris Abelson, Sioux City, Iowa; 14. Mike Hansen, Alton, Iowa; 15. Bob Zoubek, Dorchester; 16. Mike Densberger, Malcolm; 17. Clayton Christensen, Spencer, Iowa; 18. Robert Hellebust, Minot, N.D.; 19. Adam Larson, Ames, Iowa; 20. Kyle Krampe, Baxter, Iowa; 21. Jason Schoenberger, Russell, Kan.; 22. Johnny Saathoff, Beatrice; 23. Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay, Wis.; 24. Tim Czarneski, Denmark, Wis.

Stock Cars – 1. Damon Murty, Chelsea, Iowa; 2. Andrew Altenburg, Truman, Minn.; 3. Tyler Phelps, Beatrice; 4. Casey Werkmeister, North Platte; 5. Jesse Taylor, Fort Morgan. Colo.; 6. Michael Murphy, Jefferson, Iowa; 7. Kyle Vanover, Beatrice; 8. Michael Jaennette, Newton, Iowa; 9. Tony Arnold, Sloan, Iowa; 10. Elijah Zevenbergen, Ocheyedan, Iowa; 11. Don Killen, Des Moines, Iowa; 12. Trent Murphy, Jefferson, Iowa; 13. Wes Baier, Max Bass, N.D.’ 14. Shane Stutzman, Milford; 15. Tommy Killen, Des Moines; 16. Cody Clark, Yorktown, Iowa; 17. Jedrek Williams, Deshler; 18. Eric Weyer, Centralia, Kan.; 19. Keith Riley, Larned, Kan.; 20. Perry Misner, Garden City, Kan.; 21. Brandon Clough, Wallace; 22. Austin Curtin, Waukon, Iowa; 23. Bill Wood, Mahaska, Kan.; 24 Jay Schmidt, Tama, Iowa.

Hobby Stocks – 1. Shaun Slezak, Milligan; 2. Mike Hansen, Weeping Water; 3. Brendon Stigge, Fairbury; 4. Blain Petersen, Essex, Iowa; 5. Adam Armstrong, Beatrice; 6. Colby Langenberg, Norfolk; 7. Keith Dragoo, Lincoln; 8. Jim Hall, Jackson; 9. John Cain, Homer; 10. Brandon Johnson, DeWitt; 11. Brian Stich, Topeka, Kan.; 12. Mark Saathoff, Beatrice; 13. Brent VanDiest, Columbus; 14. Scott Pippert, Elberon, Iowa; 15. Jacob Harms, Beatrice; 16. Mike Johnston, Des Moines, Iowa; 17. Ryan Gilland, Beatrice; 18. Ed DeLong, Cleghorn, Iowa; 19. Cory Adams, Des Moines, Iowa; 20. Shane Slezak, Lincoln; 21. Brandon Pruitt, Dexter, Iowa; 22. Thom Marsh, Lincoln; 23. Kent Husted, Sioux City, Iowa; 24. Brent Schlake, Beatrice.

Northern SportMods – 1. Mike Pruitt, Redfield, Iowa; 2. Jesse Sobbing, Glenwood, Iowa; 3. Jeremy Leiting, Valpariso; 4. Kyle Prauner, Norfolk; 5. Racer Hulin, Laurel, Iowa; 6. Max Harder, Blue Springs; 7. Nelson Vollbrecht, Stanton; 8. Greg Metz, Washington, Kan.; 9. D.J. Doebelin, Council Bluffs, Iowa; 10. Clinton Luellen, Minburn, Iowa; 11. Ben Schultz, Algona, Iowa; 12. Clay Sellard, Bucklin, Kan.; 13. Terry Richards, Denton; 14. Tad Reutzel, Burt, Iowa; 15. Tyler Frye, Belleville, Kan.; 16. Shawn Harker, Nebraska City; 17. Dustin Schmidt, Fairbury; 18. Doug Smith, Lake City, Iowa; 19. Todd Holliman, Beaver Lake; 20. Brett Lowry, Montezuma, Iowa; 21. Josh Pruitt, Dexter, Iowa; 22. Josh Modde, Des Moines, Iowa; 23. Blain Petersen, Essex, Iowa; 24. Cody King.

Sport Compacts – 1. Aaron Betz, Avoca, Minn.; 2. Tyler Whalen, Riverside, Iowa; 3. Ole Olsen, Carter Lake, Iowa; 4. Brock McDougall, DeWitt; 5. Scott Spellmeier, Marysville, Kan.; 6. Kevin Fearing, Lincoln; 7. Justice Colson, Grand Island; 8. David Knoell, Mead; 9. Chad Bassinger, Nebraska City; 10. Derek Lamberson, Grand Island; 11. Cameron Meyer, Pierce; 12. Nick Lindblad, Beatrice; 13. Barry Kinnersley, LaVista; 14. Cody Thompson, Sioux City, Iowa; 15. Matt Moyer, Gretna; 16. Jordan Uehling, Norfolk; 17. Kenneth Roberts, Lincoln; 18. Josh Johnson, Lincoln; 19. Caine Mahlberg, Dunlap, Iowa; 20. Alex Davis, Denison, Iowa; 21. Jason Kroeger, Manilla, Iowa; 22. Tyler Fralin, Beatrice; 23. Brandon Lobdell, Salina, Kan.; 24. Nathan Scribner, Crete.

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: