Wednesday, February 21, 2018

Van Gemmill Doubles Up At Salina Speedway

SalinaSpeedway (2)Salina, KS – It’s always been said that it’s better to be late than never.

In the past 2 weeks that’s what veteran racer Van Gemmill has been going by.

Last week Van Gemmill held off former IMCA National Champ, David Murray, for his 1st win of the season at Salina Speedway in the Belleville Motor Sports IMCA Modified division. Friday night he followed it up with his 2nd straight win!

Corey Lagroon had a long night. It started off by hard contact with the retaining wall in his heat race. This meant the championship contender would have to start near the back of the A Main. His night got better as it went along. Lagroon made the much needed repairs and had a solid run in the feature. He would finish the night with a runner-up finish.

Brian Knoell finished in the 3rd position, the points leader, Mike Petersilie raced his way to a 4th place finish and rounding out the top 5 was Jerry Phillips.

Belleville Motor Sports IMCA Modified Heat Race Winners were Corey Burch and Joe Cleveland.

The Budweiser IMCA Hobby Stock Feature held a lot of excitment on Friday night.

Could Mike Traskowsky continue his strong 2014 season or would another new face finally break into victory lane?

Tommy Shomaker would grab the early lead in the main event. On lap 5 both Traskowsky and Tommy Fose would storm by to take the top 2 spots on the speedway.

Traskowsky would again show how strong he was as he powered to the lead and spread it out all the way to the finish. The win was his 8th on the season and 5th straight at Salina Speedway. Not many drivers can boast of having had a season like Traskowsky is having this year.

Shay Simoneau would make a mad dash to the runner-up spot, Aaron McBride used lapped traffic to get the 3rd place spot, 4th was Fose and Tony Slothower took home the 5th position.

Budweiser IMCA Hobby Stock Heat Race Winners were Mike Traskowsky & Aaron McBride.

In the BSB Manufacturing NeSmith Chevrolet Weekly Racing Series Late Model division it’s been a stellar year for the reigning champ, Delbert Smith.

It hasn’t been the Delbert Smith domination nation either. More drivers in this class have stepped up to the front this season and have strong outings. Chris Kratzer is one of those drivers.

Sitting in the top 3 in the point standings and a handful of wins, Kratzer can be happy with how his year has gone. Friday night he added another win #4 to his fun season.

Scotty Phillips would be the early leader in the main event, but mechanical issues would force him out of the race. As Phillips went out Kratzer would inherit the lead.

Back to green flag racing and Kratzer would have pressure from Darrick Klima and Smith, but it wouldn’t matter on this night Kratzer was too strong.

Smith would slip by Klima late in feature and take home a 2nd place finish, Klima would settle for 3rd, Jill Roberg put her best finish of the year in at 4th place and Terry Malm raced his way to 5th.

BSB Manufacturing NeSmith Chevrolet Weekly Racing Series Late Model Heat Race Winners were Klima and Phillips.

The M&H Motors IMCA Northern Sport Mod division added another new face to the drivers that have won features in 2014. Heading into Friday night’s action there had been 5 different winners on the season and after Friday night Brenden Damon added his name to the list to become number 6.

Damon was on a power play during the feature. After finishing 2nd in the 2nd heat of the night, Damon new that getting out to a fast start would be the key against the competition he was facing. That’s exactly what he did by getting to the top spot early in the main.

From there it was all Damon as he answered all the challenges from the competition.

Kurtis Pihl would run a strong 2nd, 3rd went to a hard racing Jeff Olson, Tyler Frye gained a few points in the standings by finishing 4th and 5th was the points leader, Austin Carter.

M&H Motors IMCA Northern Sport Mod Heat Race Winners were Fred Traskowsky and Tyler Frye.

The special class of the night were the IMCA Sport Compacts.

In a wire to wire win it would be Michael Smith taking down the competition in the main event. Smith would take the lead on the opening lap and then issued a strong message by leading all the laps.

Josh Rice put on a strong show for the fans by coming from deep in the field to finish 2nd, 3rd went to Kiowa Higdon, Stephanie Unruh came home in 4th and Madison Reed rounded out the top 5.

Racing at Salina Speedway will be on hiatus until Sept. 12, 2014 as many of the competitors will take their chance next week at the IMCA Super Nationals in Boone, IA.

Fans are also encouraged to take part in the Fantasy Racing League, in which a weekly winner will receive a FREE Salina Speedway T-Shirt. To play visit and click on the “Fantasy” link at the top.

Racing Friday night, Sept. 12, gets underway at 7:15 p.m. with hotlaps and green flag racing will start shortly after the completion of hotlaps.

Adult admission is $10, with kids 15 and under FREE with a paid adult, all seniors 55 and up are half price with ID and all active military are FREE with appropriate ID as well! Pit passes are $25.

Fans wanting to get the 411 on Salina Speedway just need to stay logged in to their home on the world wide web at As fans visit the site take a look at the 2014 schedule to see what classes are racing, great stories and results. Sign up for the Text & Email BLASTS! You can also like their Facebook page at www. or follow on Twitter @SalinaSpeedway1

Late Models – A Feature August 29, 2014
Pos Car # Driver
1 55 Chris Kratzer
2 92 Delbert Smith
3 2K Darrick Klima
4 10J Jill Roberg
5 70T Terry Malm
6 47 Chris Bratcher
7 194 Scott Phillips (DNF)
8 92S Daniel Smith (DNF)
9 15 Alan Reinert (DNF)
10 12G Ryan Grit (DNF)
11 31 Kelly Dunn (DNF)

Modifieds – A Feature August 29, 2014
Pos Car # Driver
1 21 Van Gemmill
2 24 Corey Lagroon
3 B6 Brian Knoell
4 25P Mike Petersilie
5 66 Jerry Phillips
6 8R Jesse Richter
7 16Z Jeremy Zorn
8 20 Warren Huffman
9 A2 Randy Wilson
10 14M Danny Morrison (DNF)
11 53T Larry Sutton (DNF)
12 819 Shannon Johnson (DNF)
13 747 Corey Burch (DNF)
14 2 Joe Cleveland (DNF)

Sport Mods – A Feature August 29, 2014
Pos Car # Driver
1 33D Brenden Damon
2 3K Kurtis Pihl
3 18 Jeff Olson
4 55 Tyler Frye
5 63C Austin Carter
6 12 Tyler Post
7 23 Fred Traskowsky
8 C4X Curtis Dreasher
9 2C Matthew Crowell
10 09 Rick Dreasher
11 81T Tristen Barton
12 C4 Chris Humphries
13 02 Chris Walker
14 7 Mark Franklin (DNF)
15 1S Cody Stefanski (DNF)
16 27G Kamren Gruber (DNF)
17 10P Randy Picking (DNF)

Hobby Stocks – A Feature August 29, 2014
Pos Car # Driver
1 23 Mike Traskowsky
2 22SS Shay Simoneau
3 31M Aaron McBride
4 27 Tommy Fose
5 06 Tony Slothower
6 T1X Billy McBride
7 5K Kelly Pihl
8 15E Elliott May
9 7 Mark Hedberg
10 86 Neil Normandin
11 22 Dennis Berry
12 30PK Ethan Kenney
13 88B Pete Beaumont (DNF)
14 4A Nathan Munhall (DNF)
15 83 Tommy Shomaker (DNF)

FWD – Sport Compacts – A Feature August 29, 2014
Pos Car # Driver
1 17S Michael Smith
2 3CG Josh Rice
3 17 Kiowa Higdon
4 55S Stephanie Unruh
5 6M Madison Reed
6 63 Brandon Lobdell
7 14B Amber Bird (DNF)
8 4 Ashlyn Bird (DNF)
9 11 Josh Howard (DNF)
10 72 Tracy Montague (DNF)
11 4J Wayne Juenemann (DNF)
12 14M John McNabb (DQ)

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: